Bangkok, Bangkok, BangkoK!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey Doll- Did you pick up on the symbolism of the Title? I did that one for you!

My goal for this trip was to experience everything Thailand had to offer and I find that as this trip is coming to an end I feel like I have been completely successful in accomplishing just that! From elephant trekking, moped riding, tribal villiage visits, swimming in turquoise ocean water, riding in a tuk tuk (and all the various forms of transportation for that matter- some completely unexpected and tremendously dangerous,) going to temples and palaces, bargaining at street markets, watching beautiful sunsets, dress shopping in a silk shop, walking down Kho Sarn Road, eating with chopsticks, painting, massages, and weaving, I have seem to experienced it all- good and bad. I even ate food off a vendor on Kho Sarn Road. In the beginning I was extremely skeptical about eating the food. Last night, I decided not to hold back and ate Phad Thai from one of the vendors. Eric said I wasn't getting the full Thai experience if I were to decline, so I said why not because my stomach has been fine the entire trip. I have to admit, he was correct. It was some of the best Thai food I have eaten the entire trip. I'm coming back to the US a total Thai girl. I am getting off the plane in Thai Fisherman pants and a drum, it really doesn't get much better than that. I hope you are ready Scottie and Linnie; just listen to the beat of the drum and you will find me in the terminal.

Yesterday we returned to Bangkok for our final few days in Thailand. We left Koh Chang early in the morning and after a wonderfully sweaty, and painful van ride we arrived safely in Bangkok in the evening. (I really don't know what is up with some of these drivers. The man had a lead foot and constantly locked the breaks.) We enjoyed our street food for dinner, walked the roads for a few hours, and squeezed into a tuk tuk before bed. Eric left us this morning to return to Bali. We spent the day at the weekend street market to buy souvenirs. I think I bought anything and everything that made noise for my classroom: a drum, recorders, and a loud frog! (My new school is going to love me!) The street market was nothing like I ever seen. It was so massive, that it was impossible to find the shop where we started. Bargaining after a while gets really aggravating as well. All in all we are extremely pleased with our purchases and hope our friends and family are as well. A day of shopping is quite tiresome. For the last day we are going to the grand palace to visit the King and Queen and then it will be quite necessary to figure out how all this stuff I bought is going to make it home.

Until tomorrow for my final thoughts,
Christina

P.S. Brooks Community- Do not believe everything Eric and Kristin have to say about me on this trip! They are overembellishing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

We need to find a way to get him to school...We need to find a way to get him to school...
We need to find a way to get him to school...

so he doesn't have to sell flowers all his life!


17th August 2008

thank you...
for taking me along with you on your journey. I loved comparing your blogs with Kristin's..totally different perspectives. I can tell through your writing that this has been an unbelievable growing experience for you. I am amazed by all you have accomplished and am excited to hear more about the adventure. All of you have inspired me.. who knows maybe next year... I am so excited for all of you to return. I learned so much at Columbia and I cannot wait to share it with all of you! Be safe on your journey home. love, karen
17th August 2008

The Truth Hurts
No, we are not! AND, I haven't even gone into detail (I'm hot, I'm cold, can you hold this, can you open this, what kind of dressings, what is that). You just wait for the stories to unfold on MT!!
18th August 2008

Overembellishing!?!?
No embelishment necessary! The truth, the WHOLE truth and nothing but the truth. Especially about you and that Thai guy!!! ;)
19th August 2008

Tampa Tampa TAMPA!
Thanks for the shout out doll i appreciate it! i have so many things to tell you when you get back! cant wait to see you!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb