Bangkok - lost and found


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 9th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Khao SanKhao SanKhao San

This was the first site getting out of the airport bus.
Finally in Bangkok.

I only arrived yesterday, however it seems as if i've been here for a week already. This city is absolutelly crazy.

The trip:

The trip was great and not even close to what I was expecting. Turns out that Jet Airways is actually a great company to fly on. Great seats whith more room than I ever seen, great entertainment and super great flight attendants as well.

Arriving at Bangkok:

I arrived at 7 in the morning and fastly caught a bus to Khao San road which is the backpackers meca in the whole world (jut for those who dont know it already). It was rainning but the temperature as fine and I walked about fo while seeking a guestroom to stay at. I was looking for a cheap place but I also didnt want to sleep with rats, so I checked a few just to compare and then the backpack started to get real heavy and I decided to stop for lunch and make my decision about the place.
I ordered spring rolls and noodles with chicken and a beer. A 3 euro meal which I couldn,t finish. hats when the jet
First Thai mealFirst Thai mealFirst Thai meal

Very good. 3 euros for all this. Well spent.
lag started attacking. With the heat and an empty stomach the beer exploded into my blood stream and together with te sleepyness made me stare at the ground out of focus for log periods of time. So I just sit put and waited for two hours till I got the courage to get up and o get a room at the guest house.
For 9 euros a night which s not very cheap here I got a room with tv, air con and private bathroom. Not bad for the price I think, and it's in a really cool place, near to khao san street, full of vendors and stuff.

The City:

The city s crazy, very cheap yet very expensive. :P How can this be? Everything is cheap but there are a lot of things to do. I'm on my second day here and by estimated budget for two weeks in tailand is gone. hehe
This is not a problem as I have spent most of it in accomodation and travel costs for the next step in Chiang Mai, northen tailand.
I also bough a custom made suit (lost my head here but the fact is needed one and there's no best place to get these deals you get here)
However, not counting extras I am spending about 20 euros a day which is well within budget.

Bangkok is sort of heaven and hell in a pot. In only two days I've managed to hate and love the place.
It is super poluted, it can smell very bad and you see lots of people in the streets that are vry far away from clean and there's traffic everywhere.
However it is a place were you can get virtually anything you want. Everything is sold on the streets and for good prices.
A tuktuk drive costs 50 cents and you can go wherever you want. Today this guy took me to 3 different places where he waited for me up to an hour and... no problem. It is institutd by the government. So whithin bangkok, going anywhere is cheap. (you risk your life Though :P)
I will not try to describe it further because there's no way I could. Only one thing I have to mention, thai people are great. sometimes you get the feeling they just want your money but the truth is in only 2 days
Chai PrayaChai PrayaChai Praya

The river, like the city is poluted and very restless.
for 3 times complete strangers came to me and helped me out whithout me asking.

So, tuesday I'm leaving to Chiang Mai, i'll post more before that though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Food MarketFood Market
Food Market

Couldn't eat any o this stuff because the smell arround as too intense.
Crazy Speed BoatsCrazy Speed Boats
Crazy Speed Boats

These boas show tourists around, quite expensive though.
Tuk tuk rideTuk tuk ride
Tuk tuk ride

If you like the wind going through your hair an you're not too afraid to die. Tuk tuk is the way to go arround.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb