Forget about the Man Eating Minnows... I'm being attack by motorcycles!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Look at usLook at usLook at us

Medford People can you recognize all these people? In Eric's fancy hotel
So we all know how I love to have conversations...so yesterday we are walking on Khao San Road to our hotel. I'm just talking to the girls about the flight, wedding, random stuff not really paying attention to anything else. All of a sudden motorcycles are zooming by. I did a panic little dodge thing and the girls just laughed. Apparently, it is normal for the motorcycles to go where people are walking. I really was fearing for my life. They are nuts on the little suckers. This happen two other times and again I did the little panic dodge. That is definitely something I need to get use to.

I don't really feel like I am in a different country yet; everything in Bangkok is in English, I heard Beyonce and Rhianna singing on Khao San Road, I was getting "low" with Flo Rida, and I even did a little dance to techno music. Where we are located is all tourists. However, I do find Bangkok to be quite dirty. Yesterday, while we were having dinner I witnessed a rat on the electrical wires, bats flying above, dogs and cats every where. I still have more to see in Bangkok when we return later in the trip, but hopefully we will have a much cleaner experience, but I'm not counting on it!

We stayed in a little guess house which reminded me of a dorm room in Reynolds Hall. I had to shower over the toilet which was quite interesting, but there was AC and warm water. I was happy with that. I was nervous about the bugs in the middle of the night and whenever I got scared I found my self spooning with Kristin. I even woke her up when I had to go to the bathroom because I was afraid of snakes in the toilet (one of my biggest fears) and I also woke her up because I was afraid of bugs on my toothbrush! I didn't really get much sleep. I woke up every two hours. (I am sure Kristin put a picture of me on her blog. I really did not sleep like that the whole night. I was just being comedic!)

This morning we woke early to visit Eric at his hotel. He had a lay over in Thailand before he went to catch up with his sister in Vietnam. We walk into his hotel and it was a Palace. It was beautiful. Mr. Rough and Tough Paci was sleeping in clean King Size Sheets. Now that is my kind of place! Breakfast was excellent and he was as usual quite entertaining!I fear for my life when I get into cabs. These cab drivers are Maniacs, topping off at 96 miles an hour. No seat belts either. Oh they make me cringe, needless to say the two rides to visit Eric were quite eventful!

Leaving for Chiang Mai in 2 hours. Another fifteen hour ride to my destination awaits.

Hello to everyone!

Love, ME

Advertisement



30th July 2008

It's true, it's true
I guess the secret is out. I have never slept on a sand dune in Timbukto, never slept on a boat deck, never slept on the roof of a Dogon hut, never had to take a bucket shower, never had to use a squat toilet, never rode an elephant, climbed a volcano, or swam with sharks. The truth is that every summer I just go to fancy shmancy hotels that have more toilitries in the bathroom than a salon and more marble than the vatican! darn you for ruining it all!
30th July 2008

Mommy being Mommy
I know you are an adult and you may have figured this out but just in case: A- When not in use keep your toothbrush as well as all your things packed away. In plastic if possible. Zip up your bag so you don't give anything an unwanted ride home. B- You need to get some sleep. C- Continue to jump out of the way of motor vehicles of all types. D-Stay safe and have fun. E-Stop rolling your eyes at me. Love Maka
30th July 2008

Is that a tan on Thai Kho that I see in the picture with Eric and you??? Have a great time and keep us informed.
30th July 2008

Glad You Are Safe
I am glad you are safe and enjoying your experience... watch out for the motorcycles though I don't want a squashed sister. And when did you get an Ipod touch? Love you, JONA
31st July 2008

Jona
I'm safe and really enjoying my experience thus far. I am still adjusting but I'm keeping an open mind so that is helping. I just got to Chiang Mai and there seems to be many really cool things to do. Mosquitos are now attacking. Good thing for my net; it is coming in use! Tell Greg I said hello!
31st July 2008

Now that's my kind of place...... The three of you look great!!!!! Can't wait to hear more!!!! Cheryl
2nd August 2008

Dolly!
Dolly! i'm so jealous you're having an adventure with out me :-( be careful out there and yes zip up your bag bc i dont think scotty would appreciate any snakes from Thailand in the house! Don't have any doll and doll adventures without me! Love you be safe!!! Love Always, Dolly!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb