Don't just do something...sit there!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 7th 2005
Published: December 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was an interesting day. I met up with a "friend" I made in the market who wanted to show my around Bangkok in exchange for teaching him somethings about the states as his sister is moving to Houston in a month to work for the Red Cross. I had dinner at his house and and was impressed how absolutely clean everything inside, while all living things outside is either standing in sewage, smelling like 100 year old rotting eggs, or infected with the avarian bird flu.
Expecting to go to Wat Po, I soon found myself in a poker game where I'm working with the dealer....using hand signals to count the cards....and attempting cheat this rich woman from Singapore out of $63,000 dollars (U.S. currency). I really don't have much money on me but what appeared to be a fun game of poker turns into an elaborate scame involving a gang of players....all out to take my money. Needless to say I play it out and end up back at the hotel where I'm soon talking with two local district detectives. Like everyone else here, they don't speak a lick of English but in about two hours from now we are collectively going to attempt to nab one of the gang members who con'd me into the mess in the first place. He's supposed to meet me at the hotel this morning for the completion of our highstakes fraudulent black jack "game". I've also since learned that this is a relatively new scam but one in which is common here in Bangkok... Frankly, I'm looking forward to getting out of the city and into the country where there's less polution, less city cement, and more greenery and natural beauty.
Later today I'm going to actually make it to Wat Po and take a free meditation class. Should be 4 to 5 hours of sitting in one place and staring out of my third eye.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



8th December 2005

Hey Brian! Why does this entry sound like something out of a new Griswold movie? "National Lampoon's Asian Vacation"? :) Sounds like you are having a great time. I'm so happy for you. I can't wait to see all your pictures. I only have one question...any unlocked linen closets around so you can bring me a souvenir? Have Fun and BE CAREFUL!!!! Buddha bless you in your travels...or something like that.

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb