Nightmare Start


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oh Dear



Well I'm here safe and sound in Bangkok although the trip didnt really get off to the start I had wanted. After our flight was predictably delayed by over 4 hours at Heathrow due to a cracked windscreen, we arrived in Thailand at 8pm local time. We got off the plane, went through passport control and waited for our luggage. And waited. And waited. And waited.... Lisa and Rick got theirs okay but mine was nowhere to be seen. The long and short if it is that Quantas have lost my bag. The bag with ALL my clothes in (except the ones I was wearing) The bag I was due to live out of for he next year, has gone after the first few hours of the trip....fantastic.

I'm a bit too depressed to go into too much detail so I will just quickly put up what I've been up to last few days. We were due to fly down to Koh Samui early the next morning but instead I have had to wait in Bangkok in the hope that my bag would show up. Its been two days now and everytime I have called all I get is "we have no infomation on you bag, sorry" We decided there was no point in us all waiting so Lisa and Rick took the flight down straight away to hopefully sort out somewhere to stay for us and Mark (who we had met at the airport as planned) has stayed with me in Bangkok. The full moon party is tomorrow which we really don't want to miss so either way we are flying down to meet them tomorrow morning and I am going to have to buy and entire wardrobe from some dodgy Thia markets somewhere..... oh well, guess I will be able to look on the funny side of this one day. Not yet though. 😉

On a brighter note, Bangkok is mental! Had a good look round yesterday and we went out last night to a few of the bars on Khoa Sarn road which is the general travelers area. We made friends with some random Thai people who had limited English but did know about Leeds so we got in prety well. We are staying in a really nice hotel but looking forward to getting out of the city really and down to the beaches.

Anyway, just thought I'd stick up my first blog note so thanks to everyone who's reading this! Hopefully some pictures will follow soon and you can have a laugh at my inevitable sunburn.

Speak soon,

Andy

P.S. Its 35 degrees here - whats the temperature like in Leeds/Warrington?

Advertisement



21st January 2008

HI!
Hi hun! How crap about your bag?! Hope you're ok tho...at least you're there in one piece!...will you get your bag back then?! What about your Callcredit shorts and flip flops??!! Weather here is poo to say the least..is currently pissing it down! Look forward to seeing a pic of non-angry Letts in the sunshine! Much love! X X
23rd January 2008

Hi!
Hi There!
13th February 2008

carnage :D
Its always you andy, always :p

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb