Goodbye Thailand One Day Late


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 17th 2005
Published: October 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This is going to be quick b/c I have 3 hours left in Bangkok. Anyway, I spent 3 great days in Kanchanaburi. Met some really fun English people to hang out with - yesterday I was actually thinking with an English accent. It was awesome. Anyway, I went over the Bridge over the River Kwai, went to a great museum about the work camps in the area during WWII - a lot of Allied prisoners of war died in the construction of the Thailand - Burma railway along the River Kwai. Talked to one of the Brits about movies/music/ art in general for hours, went to a waterfall with 7 levels, the Erawan waterfall. Mainly just had a great time. Oh, also one night while we were watching a movie at the hostal, it started raining so hard that we couldn't hear it at all. This was LOUD. Then we looked at the entrance and an elephant had just decided to wander in and say hi. That was pretty cool.

Then I came to Bangkok yesterday to leave on an 11PM flight - or so I thought. I got a cab to the airport at 8PM and on the way, decided to look at my ticket, just to check if it said the terminal I was supposed to go to. It didn't. What it did say was that my flight had left at 6:30 and the arrival time in Abu Dhabi, my stopover, was 11. So I went to the airport, looked for the Gulf Air office, and alas, it was closed for the night. I momentarily thought of sleeping in the airport, thought better of it, got a cab back to Kao San Rd. and waited out the night, hoping they wouldn't make me buy a new ticket. Luckily they didn't seem to care at all that I missed the flight, just asked when I wanted to leave, I said today, and they said okay "you leave at 6". That was that.

So of course now that I'm leaving I'm finally getting into the groove of traveling alone. Well there's always next time, and Paris/Madrid will be awesome. Okay gotta go have my last Thai meal (sob). I will sorely miss the food here.

Best wishes to all and congrats to Ben Kapnik on your recent engagement!!!

Advertisement



17th October 2005

Seeya soon!
Can't wait to have you cook some Thai food for me one of these days! Not too spicy please. So glad your Thai adventure is ending on an upbeat note. love you los and see you soon in Madird!. Love, tu madre

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb