01/12/2008 - Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 12th 2008
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was the last full day of my trip to Asia. Greg left at about 730 this morning for the south and the beach. I woke around 8am and got ready for the day and headed out...I had a really busy day of sight seeing planned.

Started out by going to a really nice park where I walked around for a bit and saw some HUGE lizard swimming in the lake...it was massive...like 4 feet! After the lake, I caught the subway over to China Town. I walked through China Town and stoped at a few markets, but nothing to interesting being sold.

After China Town, I managed to walk over to the Grand Palace. I had to put my leg section of my shorts/pants on to get in...when I got in, there were sooo many people. The Princess died just a few days ago and people are being brought from all over the country to see her at the Palace...so it was packed. I took a few photos without actually going into the palace, and then I left. I decided that there was NO WAY I was going to survive the day...it was much hotter already than yesterday and I was soaked to the bone....SO I hired a tuktuk and rode to the subway and worked my way up to a shopping mall.

This was no ordinary shopping mall, it was HUGE and CHEAP. I first ate lunch and then started going through the mall...I stuck mainly to the areas that were styled like a Market with small shops. I bought a few shirts and a bag and sunglasses, all for under $25! After that, I went and changed into my new shirts - - it felt so good to get the sweaty one off!!!

I walked around the mall for awhile longer, looking for a wallet, but no luck...I then went to check movie times at the theater, but no good times for me...so I spent about an hour playing guitar hero in the arcade! There were so many people crowded around me watching, and im not that good....but I guess in Bangkok they are even worse.

After the arcade I caught a movie - Mr. Woodcock. and now I am back at the hostel...BUT i have to go now...am going to go out with some people in the hostel...i figured I might as well stay up all night (leaving at 3am for the airport....)

Be home SUNDAY!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.5s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb