Siam Shopping and Thai Lesson


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 28th 2007
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wake with a hangover and learn the evil that is Beer Chang. Its only antedote is another visit to Oh My Cod for a full english. I am pleasantly suprised that its decent and almost proper, apart from the sausage which is a bit Morrisons supermarket for my taste. I need to buy a camera cause I've already missed out on some great photos, so I head to the Siam district by boat and sky train again. I meet three Austrailian girls who are also on the way there. I also speak to another Thai woman who is a teacher and she is very friendly, she fills me in on some facts about the city and culture and I feel like im getting into the swing of it. I really like learning as much as possible and as we power down the river, I feel good.
The girls help me find a camera and also negotiate a price of 100 pounds for a 7.1 Mega pixel fugifilm Z digicam. Bargain! There are thousands of bargains to be had, a whole floor of mobile phones is like a maze and after two hours I am getting that shopping feeling and have to get out. I eat at a fast noodle place, where I have some unrecognisable things - I think there are octopus balls and I hope its just the shape and not the actual part. Walking through the city back to the sky train i notice that food is a massive part of the way of life here, everywhere there are food trollies and people having quick rice rishes. It seems no one cooks at home, and dishes are so cheap, why should they?! There are many people asleep in the hot sun and this is also something that you dont see much in London - its a different kind of busy here though, life is everywhere, babies in motorbike baskets, old men playing games with stones on the floor. The senses are assaulted, unfortunatley the occasional sewer smell drifts past and reminds me that beneath the growing businesses and tourism there is a strong uncurrent of poverty.
I return to the Banglampu district to Koh San, and sit by the river for a while. A grandfather sits with his girl, kids play and I think that we are so trapped in houses in England, people seem to be happier just outside here. School children also seem more respectful, I think of the lairy chavs at the backs of buses in England and what would happen if they acted that way here- I doubt it would be tolerated.
I pop into a bar to get a beer and meet two English guys as one has a guitar. They are teachers in Bangkok and have been for four years. They are Jules and Jeremy, good friends who have a lot of stories and advise to offer. I go to dinner with them and they give me a Thai language lesson which I scribble in my journal. We speak about Thai culture, religion and its very interesting to learn about how the Buddism and Karma effects the way people live. It explans the hair rasing traffic as they have no fear, believing in reincarnation. They tell me people are content to earn just a little, as long as they have a job - this is a sharp contrast to the society we live in we agree. They also explain how Thai land can not be owned by foreigners, only 49%, so it stays in Thai hands - this protects the country from being taken over, and means that many Thai Brides get rich by owning 51% of their husbands property! After quite a few more Beer Laos - I meet Jeremy's Thai girlfriend who is quite a stunner. I practice some thia phrases on her and feel good that I now know how to say "No thank you, I dont want" - Mai Jaow Kap! This will come in useful in the weeks to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sunset by the riverSunset by the river
Sunset by the river

After shopping I sat by the river and reflected on my first two days in bangkok.
Me, Jeremy and 'Mr Thailand!' Me, Jeremy and 'Mr Thailand!'
Me, Jeremy and 'Mr Thailand!'

Quite a character in the area.
Mmm Beer LaosMmm Beer Laos
Mmm Beer Laos

This is good stuff. Apparently carlsberg ewnt over to Laos to see what their secret was!


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb