Quick Update


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 25th 2005
Published: September 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Nice View of St PaulNice View of St PaulNice View of St Paul

I spent a fair amount of time on the South Bank of the river on Monday. The (in)famous Millenium Bridge in the foreground.
Well, it certainly seems awhile since I posted. Rita just kind of zapped my interest in telling you of my journeys while things of much greater import were happening. And, indeed, there were much greater things for us all to worry about late last week...

However, as probably all of you know by know, Rita graciously spared The Woodlands - beyond some downed tree branches and a four or five hour power outage. Mary Frances and Megan slept through the whole storm. Judy had them sleep in our master closet - it does not have windows and is large enough in which to put two inflatable beds. Judy dealt with it as she deals with all things - superbly.

So, that's behind us. I have a lot of catching up to do and will do so very soon. I think I have three unfinished entries.

One from London and two from Singapore. I'll forward those along quickly.

This past Tuesday I left London at Noon and flew 13 hours to Singapore. Amazing flight in all respects - much more in my next update.

Singapore is a strange city - beautiful to be sure. Imagine Toronto, Minneapolis,
Tower of London Tower of London Tower of London

With the Giant Gherkin in the background. I used to think this was the most jolting mix of old and new in the same picture until I went to Singapore!!
and Miami all rolled together and spit out in Asia as one new city. Impeccably clean, organized, and efficient - and tropically gorgeous. The juxtaposition of old and new faces you at every turn. Lots more to say in my Singapore post.

Now in Bangkok. A first for me - the only city I have ever visited in my life that has the ability to intimidate me. Not a fear, but an intimidation. Very very little English is spoken or even understood in the most rudimentary fashion. Very little English signage. VERY confusingly laid out city.

SO, thank heavens for my friends, the Ruffcorns, who transferred here from The Woodlands almost two months ago. Have had a great time with them the past 24 hours and will document some amazing adventures with them in my Bangkok update.

You should see more in the next 24 hours. Keep the comments coming!!

-g



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sun Sets Over GeorgiaSun Sets Over Georgia
Sun Sets Over Georgia

The one in the Caucasus - not the one in the Southeast US! Direct heading for Tbilisi (its capital) as we leave the Black Sea and daylight. If you look carefully right below the clouds on the right side, you can make out the mountains.
The Chinese ConsiderThe Chinese Consider
The Chinese Consider

13 a very lucky number. So, it was incorporated into the design of my hotel in Singapore. Plus, I stayed on the 13th floor in London. I'm either in for lots of good or lots of bad!!!
The Lone SurvivorThe Lone Survivor
The Lone Survivor

Of the Independence Day massacre cleverly hidden atop a government building in Singapore. Nobody seems to notice. Cunning aliens...
Dusk Dusk
Dusk

A bumboat in the foreground, Boat Quay in the middle, and the financial centre in the backgound.
The Reclining BuddhaThe Reclining Buddha
The Reclining Buddha

Nick Ruffcorn, me, and Matt Ruffcorn. We're standing at his feet. Toes and soles are what you see. And, you can hold the cracks about the standing buddha.
Wat ArunWat Arun
Wat Arun

Temple of the Dawn. Not to be confused with. "What a room." Which is what I said upon arrival here at my room at the Peninsula in Bangkok!


26th September 2005

Buchner
Gary, In case you are getting homesick for the sport highlights Mike has watched football all day Saturday and today. Isn't good to know that some things never change! Good to hear everyone in Houston is okay and you are doing well.
26th September 2005

Hey!! Where's the Buddah???
26th September 2005

Back to Normal
Lest we get too excited about the improving fortunes of our favorite football teams, both the Illini and the Bears came thundering back to earth this past weekend. The Illini got spanked by Michigan State 61-14 on Saturday and the game wasn't as close as the score indicated. (Does FireRonZook.com still exist?) And the Bears didn't fare much better with a high school offense that produced 5 interceptions for the opposing Bengals and a feeble defense that gave up one big play after another. Very frustrating. Very typical. Hurry back so you can share my misery. P.S. Glad to hear everyone is okay in the Woodlands post Hurricane Rita.
27th September 2005

Apology
I know many of you look forward to Gary’s blog updates as much as I do. Therefore, I apologize as Lori and I have kept him extremely busy in Bangkok and this has prevented him from blogging as much as he would like. Hopefully he can submit updates on his 10-hour flight from Bangkok to Sydney.
28th September 2005

Singapore
Gary, Carl and I have enjoyed your trip through your comments. If you had said that Singapore reminded you of Miami, Minneapolis and SEATTLE, I might have to visit there. We just got back from Seattle and a short visit to the San Juans. Nothing to compare to your adventures, but it was beautiful. Have a great last week and a safe trip home. We will see you next month (that is if the Ilini and Bears are still pulling you back to Illinois)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb