Job Hunt


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 11th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!

Getting my TEFL certificate.
My plan was to relax over the weekend, and then jump into the job hunt this week. Unfortunately, I caught a cold (cough, runny nose, blah, blah, blah) and as a result, my initial effort on the job search has been less than inspiring.

I have managed to get my resume on ajarn.com (best posting of English teaching jobs in Thailand) and contacted a few people who may have leads to positions at nearby schools. I expect to put a lot more effort into the job search later this week when I’m feeling better. Although there are plenty of teaching jobs in Bangkok, many of them involve significant commutes. I’m hoping to stay close to home. Pay varies greatly too. In my situation, I have a degree and teaching credential, but no formal teaching experience. My options are hourly teaching work (generally $10 - $15 per hour) or salary teaching positions ($1,000-$1,500 per month). Pay isn't high in Thailand but I'm not here for the money.

Last night, I joined Saai and her Bible Study group for dinner. Saai has been meeting with this group of women for awhile. I was invited to join them so her friends and
Saai & friendsSaai & friendsSaai & friends

before dinner in Wang Hin
I could get to know each other better. We went to a restaurant in the Wang Hin area of Bangkok (Northeast Bangkok - off the tourist trail). The restaurant is situated among other businesses (clothing stores, salons, restaurants, etc) surrounding a man-made lake. The atmosphere was great. Don’t ask me how to get there. I have no idea. In spite of my cold, I’m glad I went. It was worthwhile to spend time with Saai and some of her friends.

Ok, that's all for now. I'll try to write a more thorough update this weekend!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb