Where will I be working?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 16th 2007
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SaaiSaaiSaai

at a restaurant on Saturday near Thong Lo, Soi 13.
Things are beginning to develop on the job front. I posted my resume on ajarn.com and have been contacted by two schools. Unfortunately, neither of those schools are close. One is not even in Bangkok. That's out of the picture. The other is on the outskirts of Bangkok. I haven't ruled that one out yet, but I'm not sure how to deal with transportation to the school. It pays well and has modern facilities, but the commute isn't too appealing. It's a primary school (open positions in Kindergarden, 4th, & 6th grades), and I would have to teach at least two subjects (English is the given, but add Science, Math, etc. to the picture). All (or at least most) subjects at that school are taught in English.

I've also got a connection to a university nearby (Sripatum). However, it's on an International schedule (which conflicts with Saai's school schedule - that's important when it comes to summer break). I'll find out more soon.

As I was picking up dinner Thursday night (restaurant downstairs), I ran into Nin. She owns the laundry/drycleaners shop in this apartment complex. There are 4 independent businesses housed here (restaurant, hair salon, laundry/drycleaners, and 24
Sukhumvit RoadSukhumvit RoadSukhumvit Road

A picture of one of the popular expat areas, Sukhumvit Rd., near a skytrain stop and the upmarket Emporium Mall.
hour convenience store). They all pay rent to the apartment owner, who apparently owns several of these complexes. She's been here for about 1 year, but had never been in the laundry/drycleaning business before. It was a little tricky to figure out how she got into the business (something about a retired Belgium man who hired her to do his laundry?). There's that language barrier, but I think she's paying around 16,000 baht per month ($500 per month) for rent. I don't know how she makes much money in the business. There are usually several women down there (not sure if they are all related) and I'd be surprised if they clear more than $100 per month.

It's funny dropping off laundry. The first time they gave me a receipt. Ever since, I don't give them my name, number or anything. I just hand them my shirts and show up a couple of days later. They always seem to give me the same number of shirts back (and yes, they are my shirts). They've been washing & ironing my dress shirts (around 50 cents per shirt) while I wash the rest of my clothes/sheets at the coin-operated machines which are located on every floor of the apartment building.

Saai is in the process of applying for her tourist Visa to the U.S. Our hope is to visit my family over Christmas. Unfortunately, tickets are pretty expensive for traveling to Denver, Colorado for the holidays (likely $1,500-$1,700 per ticket). We haven't purchased any tickets yet as there are a lot of hurdles to get over before this becomes a reality. The first is to get approval from her school to be gone for a week (there is no Christmas break here - it's primarily a Buddhist country). We're not quite past that hurdle yet, but it looks positive. She has submitted her paperwork to the school administration and advised her principal of the coming request. Yes, it takes more than just "asking". There are forms, letters, & signatures. I'll likely have the same issue, but I'll be going into the job with Christmas break as a prerequisite for accepting the position.

Getting a tourist Visa for Saai is the next step, and the hardest. After submitting her application, she will have to interview at the U.S. Embassy (likely in October) to get approval. Supporting doc will need to be provided at the interview to assure the U.S. Embassy that she is going to return to Thailand after her vacation, and not become yet another illegal alien in the U.S. She'll have to show bank statements (can she pay for this trip?), proof of her job, where she is staying on her visit (letter from my parents), etc. Fun, fun!

Hopefully this all comes together!

Meanwhile, I've got two more weeks to search for a job before I'm off on my visa run/vacation to Malaysia (briefly) and then the Philippines.



Advertisement



17th September 2007

Greetings!
Hi Dave! It's really fun to read your updates. We will keep you in our prayers, especially regarding finding the right job! ~Kirk, Mari and kids

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb