Killing time


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 14th 2005
Published: October 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Royal PalaceRoyal PalaceRoyal Palace

I think this little gremlin chap was part of a shrine where you go to be blessed to ward off illnesses and evil spirits... makes sense really... I wouldn't want to go near him if I was an evil spirit!
Hey folks...

I started this blog about a month ago, just before I left Bangkok... and now I have added enough photos to justify posting it (it's taken long enough... that's the problem with naf interent connections... sorry!)

So... picking up where i'd started a month ago...

"Just got a bit of time to kill before I get on ANOTHER bus to go to Ko Pha-Ngan (can't wait....eeeeeeeeeeeee!)

So, thought I'd put some pictures up to accompany the last blog... these are of Bangkok, the Royal palace, the HUGE reclining buddha, and our wild night out on Khao San road!!!

Enjoy!

Love lots xxx"


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Royal PalaceRoyal Palace
Royal Palace

One of the gods guarding a building at the Royal Palace
Royal PalaceRoyal Palace
Royal Palace

A close up of one of the buildings at the royal palace... like a box of sweetie wrappers!
Reclining buddhaReclining buddha
Reclining buddha

BIG reclining buddha... I was NOT expecting it to be so huge! it is, apparantly, 46m long and 15m high and illustrates the passing of Buddha into Nirvana (i.e. the Buddha's passing away). The LP bible says that the buddha is modelled out of plaster around a brick core and finished in gold leaf ... i bet it takes a lot of elbow grease to keep it that shiny!
Me and Buddha,... see how HUGE it is!Me and Buddha,... see how HUGE it is!
Me and Buddha,... see how HUGE it is!

There was only one way to show you how enoromous this thing was,... and that was to put it into perspective, just don't look too closely at me,... not having a very good hair day!
Wanna be in Our Gang?!Wanna be in Our Gang?!
Wanna be in Our Gang?!

Me and some of the gang on our last night together in Bangkok... this was in a Fab irish bar with really great live music.
Khao San Road at nightKhao San Road at night
Khao San Road at night

Oh,... I'm glad I took a photo, I don't think I would have remembered what it looked like after dark otherwise!


13th October 2005

Hey Clare! I'm sorry I haven't been in touch before now, but, I have only just fully recovered from the monster hangover I had after your going away party! I've been keeping upto date with everything you've been doing and we're all really glad to hear you're having such a great time. All in Woolton are thinking of you. Take care. Rick.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb