Bangkok, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 2nd 2007
Published: July 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey hey sorry its taken so long to get updated as I haven't had access to the internet for a little while. Bangkok is a pretty amazing city, although it was absolutely crazy! Walking the streets which have the vendors all the way down the side was such a spin out. The traffic is absolutely unreal and there is just so much happening. A really good place to go for a look but I wouldn't go there for a relaxing break because you just wouldn't get one! My first few days in Bangkok, I just wandered around to see the sights and do a bit of shopping and all that jazz. I got some clothes made at the tailors and they were nice clothes but I wasn't all that impressed really. I could buy clothes off the rack at home that would be just as nice really so there ya go. On Sunday night, met up with my tour group. There are 11 of us going around together although only myself and my room mate Brittany who is from Canada, the rest of the guys are going through Vietnam into Cambodia and then back to Bangkok but that was too long that trip so my one stops in Hanoi Vietnam and then I'm on my own from then. Ok in my group there is James, Matt, & Victoria who are all from London. Kat, Emma, Steven, Dave, Jason who are all Australians, Magnus is from Germany and me and Britt. We went to the Grand Palace and What Pho in Bangkok which were pretty amazing. The Thai people so totally love their king which is a little different from anything I've seen. On Monday's everyone wears a yellow tee shirt in honor of the King's coronation day or something and it is really kinda neat. There are Long Live the King posters and banners everyone and it seems the Thai people worship the King as much as Buddha. Little shrines and incense and things are everywhere, most of the major shopping centers even have them there which is kinda a spin out because people bow to these shrines as they walk past and some even stop and kneel in front of them. Kinda neat! We went out with the group to some road where they had night markets and bars and things and it was absolutely amazing. People are everywhere and you can buy absolutely anything!! One of the guys even ate the fried crickets but no one was brave enough to try the scorpions which were huge and black!! Anyways we are heading up to Chiang Mai which is Northern Thailand by overnight train


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb