Holy ****!!! It's been a crazy 24 hours!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

GraduationGraduationGraduation

Can't believe it's all over!
Well, here Donna and I are... in an internet cafe next to our hotel... a block from Khao San Road. Donna is working hard on getting her emails finished before her time runs up. Well, as the title says, it's been a crazy 24 hours.
First, let's start with the weekend. Donna and I managed to pack up her apartment (quite an accomplishment, even for NYC space) and sent everything we could to Los Angeles. We had to re-paint her room (thanks Dustin!) and box everything that could not fit in the car (thanks UPS!). Then, after getting my car towed (thanks New York City!), we moved all our stuff back to Boston for the weekend.
OMG, what a weekend it was! My parents and two of my best friends (Bill and Neal) flew into Boston to share in my graduation. It was an amazing time!! In classic Bill Brown fashion, he researched the best damn hotel in Boston, and set up an amazing room at the Jurys Hotel. It rocked with not only a HUUUUUUUGE bathroom (largest we've seen) and equally awesome place to sleep.
Graduation was a blast!! It meant so much to have the support from my loved ones.
Following graduation, Donna and I scrambled to repack our luggage at the hotel, gather our remaining belongings at my old place and off we were! After an 8 hour drive in grueling downpour along I-95, we made it to her sister Karen's in Baltimore. THEN, as if we weren't tired enough (ie, it was 2 am), we decided to say "fuck it", lets just pack for Asia. So, 90 min. later, proud of being all packed (hint, hint - keep reading).. we rolled out a blanket on Karen's and Dave's floor and passed out.... AND THEN, 3 hours later we woke, rushed to get ready, and Dave drove us to the airport as fast as lightening cause we thought we were going to miss our plane... WHEW...We made it!!! - BUT FORGOT, lets see... the camera!!! and some clothes... sunglasses.. god - did we even remember we were going to SE Asia?!?
Today was a whirlwind. We visited Jim Thompson's house ( a famous American who helped develop the silk industry in Thailand)...visited the Thai Ronald McDonald (Hi Glen)...and spend lots of time around Khao San Road.
Long story short - did some wheelin' and dealin...
Donna and I at Jim Thompson's houseDonna and I at Jim Thompson's houseDonna and I at Jim Thompson's house

This is a picture of Donna and I at Jim Thompson's house. Jim Thompson was an American intelligence officer who mysteriously disappeared in the Malaysian highlands. His house is made of teak wood and filled with awesome works of art.
and here we are, not naked - with some pictures.... and hopefully, not too much sun damage in our eyes (we worry about this alot :-)) So - we are heading to Chiang Mai tomorrow and wanted to let you all know that we are alive - survived the 24 hour flight (with the help of a little white pill aka ambien).... and sending our love your way. We miss you all and here is a little bit of our day today.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



6th June 2007

Yikes!
Wow, sounds like an interesting 24 hours. I'm glad you both survived it in one piece and made it to your destination. I hope you guys have a blast and I look forward to reading more of your blogs. P.S....I Love the Ronald McDonald photo...he's my hero :-)
7th June 2007

Dr. Vogel
Congrats again Lorin. Have an awesome time in SE Asia and keep the blogs coming our way. PS - We got all your boxes. And when I say all, I mean all 1000 of them. Sheesh.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb