Bangkok - take 1 - Crazy Town!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 7th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"F**k it's hot!!!" These were my 1st words after getting out of the airport. I did know it would be hot but i suppose I didn't really appreciate Thai temperatures... It's stinking hot, that's what it is!!!

Anyway, the flight was fantastic (had all three seats all to myself -stretch!), so didn't feel tired at all. I headed straight to my hostel on Khao San Rd and the 1st thing I did (after a blissful cold shower of course) was... going to a hairdresser's. Yes, I can almost hear you frown, thinking "what the hec?" Well, I've decided the blondie had to go. I must admit, after landing a few magazines from Apr 2006 at that salon, I wasn't too sure about that whim. However, I've also decided to be adventurous (as if it was something new, right?). There is really something mad about having your hair dyed in some dodgy hairdresser's in Bangkok but it all finished with a very pleasant chocolate, or chestnut rather. Very pleased, for now :o)

Now, a little bit about Khao San Rd then - for those who have no clue - it's a haven (or a trap as some may say) fortourists and you can easily spend all your time there without venturing anywhere else in Bangkok! It is a strange place indeed and I felt a little bit claustrophobic, so decided to spend most of my time actually seeing Bangkok. I got myself a map and sneaked out to look for an adventure :o)

Firstly, the map didn't seem to come in handy at all and that's not because I'm crap at reading it (I am getting better each time ;o) but because most of the signs are in Thai, so no use to me... After finally finding my way to the Grand Palace (that involved crossing a few busy roads, so an experience in itself!), I got myself my personal tuk tuk driver who took me to a few sights (and a couple of shops...) for the whole 10p! Crazy, hey? Makes you think about what they charge us back home...

The funny thing about the prices here is that you should divide one by 3 and pretend you walk away if they don't agree and you've got it in the bag! After haggling in Egypt, this really is a walk in the park! You are probably haggling
Wat Phra KaewWat Phra KaewWat Phra Kaew

another temple
over 10p or something, but nobody likes to be ripped off, right?

To finish off the Bangkok experience, I went for a Thai massage and I will be doing that everyday now, me thinks! We all know massages are wonderful but you can hardly count on beautiful surroundings when you go for one in London for example. My first one here was in this parlour on the 7th floor by the pool in the place I was staying. Very cool. It was not only my muscles that got pampered, but my vanity too! I was told I've got beautiful...skin and it wasn't the first time I've heard it here. It is a bizarre thing to hear. I mean, what do you say to that?? I thanked them of course but the ladies keep on making quite a big deal out of that. To be honest, I feel very self-conscious now because one thing that it means is that I'm lacking in the tan department! They must be loving the fact my skin is fair, which to me is no good :o) Anyway, they also keep on asking me where I'm from and get really excited to hear that I'm
a monk at the Wat Phra Kaewa monk at the Wat Phra Kaewa monk at the Wat Phra Kaew

had to be careful not to touch him as they are supposed to be keeping away from women - he did take a snap with me with his camera though - naughty monk!
Polish - wow, how exotic!!!

Right, I better go and catch my overnight train to Chiang Mai - 12 hrs!!! I did get myself a bed there - let's see what that will be like... I will be back in Bangkok mid June, so will report on take 2 at that point. I wonder what I will make of it then. At the moment I can't really say much as it's the 1st place I got to and to be honest, I prefer nature to cities but let's see what happens!

All in all, it looks like it's going to be a fab trip...






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

in tuk tukin tuk tuk
in tuk tuk

that was an experience - I loved it though!
Khao San RdKhao San Rd
Khao San Rd

the infamous tourist trap...


12th August 2007

hair salons?
hey, can you recommend the salon? thats exactly what im going to do when i land, get a bangkok haircut ;)

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb