Din Daeng District


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 30th 2007
Published: March 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey yall,

Today we are staying at a swanky hotel in the Din Daeng District of Bangkok. Today is our fourth day here and we have yet to really get to see the town. This part of our trip is our rehabilitation time as we are needing to rest again. Both of us have had our share of travelers diarreah and it has been difficult for us to change hotels because of it.

Luckily I am getting better and Andy is getting better too. Hopefully by tomorrow we will get to do something more than watch HBO.

Maybe I will take some pictures. Mostly the area we are in is a lot of buildings and business. It is actually very overwhelming - where do you start?

Yesterday I tried a traditional thai massage at the hotel. It was for 2 hours and the masseus did all types of stretches with my legs, arms and back. It was a really new experience because generally massage in America does not involve moving the limbs around, streching and massaging too. Two hours was really hard to sit still for me because I kept thinking it felt like 2 hours already but it kept on going. It was more work for me than the good ol' lay down and fall asleep type. I really enjoyed it and would like to try it again, now that I have a better idea of what to expect. Today I feel great and also dehydrated.

Other than the massage we really haven't been having the best of experience here due to our health which has led us to be caught up in a scam taxi who was way expensive and refused to take us to any other hotel except the one that commissions him which also way expensive and the one we have been stuck in for the past 4 days. For us it is about 60 dollars a night, but still each day adds up and there are plenty other places that are more than half that price.

We will be leaving for KL in a couple of days, so this trip to Bangkok has been more like a trip to the holiday inn. We are frustrated and wait for Andy's condition to clear until we can move on. Until then we try to make the best of the situation and do what we can.

One more thing. Alot of people have been telling me that I look like the local people. I can see the similarities however I think if I wasn't tan it would be easier to tell I am a foriegner. Originally we thought Andy would be mistaken for Thai but now that we are here it is the other way around.

Thanks to everyone who has been commenting and e-mailing. It really means alot as we are missing family and friends.

-Lara

Advertisement



30th March 2007

hey guys all i can say is that it sounds like you guys have done a lot in the little time you guys have been gone. i love the updates and the pictures. i can't wait to see you guys when you get home!

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb