First Day in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post


Lindsay



Just a quick update. We are still catching up on sleep and a long day of shopping has made us very sleepy.

Today we went shopping, mostly in the market near our guesthouse, and then went to this huge 5 story mall called MBK. I bought a cheap knock-off zip-up, and a bag for toting around my daily things. James bought a long sleeved button up shirt and we had dinner at a Pizza Place that puts sausage in the crust.

The first place we stayed late last night (after we got there at midnight) was not so good. There was a cockroach, who greeted us about five minutes after we arrived, and it was kind of like a small town Manitoba Motel, think Carmen Motor Inn. Tonight, however, we are staying in a place that rivals any of the inclusive resorts my family and I have done in the past. It has a pool on the roof (2 actually) and the rooms are spotless. Marble floor, hot shower, western en-suite washroom, air conditioning. It actually costs less than the last place... so it is really all about finding the diamonds in the rough. We are here for the next three nights and then off to the beach. We booked our tickets to the beach today.

Tomorrow is the giant weekend market. If you want to shop this is the place to go. Uncle Warren... You could lose Karen for days in that mall and the kids could have all the knock-off soccer jerseys they want.

James



So far Bangkok is less smelly and hot than I'd remembered it to be. It also seems much less hassle-ridden, but I think that that might be due to my newly found, though limited, Thai speaking skills. Still, we've had to get out of two cabs already because the driver either didn't want to use his meter, or simply didn't want to go to where we were asking him to go.

The stray dogs are cute. One slept under my chair today while we ate breakfast.

Did Lindsay mention the pool on the roof? I'm going to bed now.



Advertisement



23rd March 2007

yea .. right.
HUGE MALL AND YOU BOUGHT THE LEESTER NOTHING? that bangkok air must be getting to your brains. Anywho..you definetly should have brought me in your suit case. The hotel room sounds freakin nice, reading this made me pretty damn jelous, thanks.. alot. jerks. anyways glad to hear you made it and didn't die on the plane. love you both(yes even you James.) Smelly Leee.
25th March 2007

Leee Re: The Mall
Thanks Leee. I am so glad you had such confidence that we would not die in the plane. Trust me... there will be more mall in the future and I am certain there will be a little something for a punky little sister. Hey and way to go for being the first and only person to leave a comment. Go help Dad... He is having trouble getting on to the site.
26th March 2007

ha!
yea haha, dad thinks hes all that and a bag of potatoe chips with computers these days but in reality he has no idea what hes up too. And your welcome, Im glad to have left you a comment, you needed to be reminded about my gift...:) heheheeee. BYE GUYS!
26th March 2007

oh oh and ps.. BANGKOK hahahahahahahahaha...
26th March 2007

Hmm, who was that?
"oh oh and ps.. BANGKOK" ........ Well I wonder who this was..... STINKAMABOB!
27th March 2007

So where are you now ?
So far sounds good, wish I was there. Waiting to hear the latest................ Sue
6th April 2007

March 25th 2007 by Who Da Man "Dad"
I would have been the first but I could'nt get to your blog. By the way I cannot find anything that says view full blog. Have a great time and James by the way you look after my little girl. Love Dad

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb