Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 9th 2007
Published: February 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Graduation day in BangkokGraduation day in BangkokGraduation day in Bangkok

as i walk to school
Thur 8th
Up early to go to Al's school (I did my PGCE with him). It was great seeing him again. He works at an international school and it was the last day before half term so it was international day. All the kids were dressed up and Al classroom was Hawaii. The children moved around classrooms and in his they could make grass skirts or (with me) flower garlands or cardboard surf boards.
After helping out there I went and bought my train ticket adn then went to the temple of the golden budda but it was shut. I then went on the underground to Luphini park and then sky train and river ferry back to hostel. The public transport is good and safe if your in the right area. Traffic is rubbish.
Evening playing cards with people from the hostel.

Fri 9th
Very tired so slow morning havign breakfast with 2 girls from hostel. Then got taxi to train station and left my big bag there. Went back to golden budda temple which was open this time. Its very impressive when you think it is solid gold. Then I walked vaguly in the right direction of the palace. Ended up getting the ferry. When I got near needed to sit in aircon cafe and have a drink. Finaly got to palace at 3.25 which was lucky as they let the last visitors in at 3.30. It was expencive to get in and one of those places that there is to much to take in.
Next I went to Watt Po with the 46mtr long and 15mt high reclining budda. It was very impressive. There I met Mac and we went for dinner before I went and caught my night train to the border of Thailand and Laos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

one of many smiling animalsone of many smiling animals
one of many smiling animals

around the watt of the giant budda


17th February 2007

Wow! You go half way around the world and then meet up with Ali. Isn't that amazing. I had no idea he was working so far from home and I bet he was glad to catch up with you again. Thanks for letting us know that the site wasn't letting us know when you updated. I thought something was up. Looks like you are still having a great time. You go girl! Lots of love Karen, Kieran and Rebecca

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb