I made it!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 10th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did make it to Bangkok despite a few obstacles. Navigating through the airport was hard because it is brand new and it's so stinking big. I was really afraid that my bags would not be there because my flight had been cancelled and I took another airline. But my bags were waiting for me. Because I am heading to South Africa for school I have 2 bags, a backpack and a big rolly bag. I went the left luggage place to leave my big rolly bag but they wouldn't take it because my computer was in it. To fix the problem I decided just to take the computer with me. But that made another problem. My computer is not lightweight. It added another 7 lbs to my backpack.
As soon as I walked out of customs I was swarmed with people asking if I needed a taxi. But I knew better because I had read in the lonely planet book I have that they overcharge. I walked to a taxi stand where the taxis use meters (a foreign idea here). My taxi driver spoke little English, and I sort of liked that. I was thinking as he was weaving in and out of lanes that this was pretty cool and Thai. He took me to my hotel, which was a really nice one. My mom had booked it for me so it was on the nicer end.
Honestly all I did at night was walk around the block my hotel was on a few times and then eat some food. Because it was nighttime I was a little afraid of wandering too far from my hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb