Bustling Bangkok!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 4th 2006
Published: December 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's my fourth day in Bangkok and I'm getting used to all of it's craziness, unreliable maps, dangerous traffic...yet underneath this there is beauty to be found.

My hotel has everything I need - thank god for aircon! It's only a short walk to Khao San road and I'm loving how central it is.

My first day here was spent orientating myself to the area and checking out the infamous Khao San rd, which is essentially bakpacker central. There are a lot of travel booking places, bars, markets and a fair few people trying to con you out of your money!

The next day I caught the new sky train to the Chatchuchak weekend markets - the biggest markets I'll probably ever go to in my life! Here you can find ANYTHING you need from antiques to art to clothes to jewellery. I resisted the temptation of buying anything - it makes a difference when you know you have to carry everything you own on your back!

Through a friend of my Dad's I met a very friendly Japanese man and his daughter. They must have taken pity on me because they were so kind to me...on Sunday they picked me up and we all went to watch Mr Mori compete in Kendo...the afternoon consisted of Sensei's like Mr Mori train against the students, some of whom looked as young as 6 years old. After that, he and his daughter, Haruko, and I went to have a beautiful Japanese dinner together and drinks. The kindness of these strangers touched my heart, and I hope I can repay them one day.

Today after being conned by a tuk tuk driver and being driven to a couple of temples before he demanded I spend money at a tourist office and when I refused he shouted 'fook you' and drove off without collecting my money - I finally managed to get to the Grand Palace. It was well worth the wait. The intricate detail juxtaposed with the majestic appearance of these collections of temples and buildings took my breath away. Whilst sitting in the temple of the green buddha where a number of people were praying I felt a sense of calm and happiness, not sure if it was co-incidental or not but I enjoyed the feeling nonetheless.

On Wednesday I fly to Hanoi. I'm very excited about discovering Vietnam.

Please feel free to send me any messages to this site or emails are also most welcome. Hope everyone is well back home and I think of you all the time.

Pip xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



4th December 2006

Go Pip
Sounds like you're having fun over there... love the Chatchuchak markets.... surprised you didn't get lost
5th December 2006

Sounds Great
Glad to hear you're having such a great trip. Remember that Mongolia is also part of Asia, so not so far away. PLEASE don't be put off by the -40 temperatures because it is well worth a visit. Free place to crash in crazy Ulaanbaatar. Have Fun! Love Cath
6th December 2006

Miss you already
Hey Pippa, missing you already. We were sad (yet happy) watching you walk thru immigration. Played tennis with Mama yesterday.. she's fine. I'm having fun, can't imagine how I found time to go to work!! Glad you are settling into your travels and not getting taken for a ride (sorry 'bout the pun!). Photos great..keep them coming. Love you.. Aunty C xxxx
8th December 2006

Ata Girl
You said you would do it, and by God you are on your way. Have great fun. Look us up if you get to SFO.
13th December 2006

Hey hun, looks fabulous! Will be there next week, will you still be there on the 22nd? Doubt it cause that's too long for Bangers. Looking forward to seeing you in Hong Kong, we have the bed made up and waiting, just make sure you tell me the dates!
21st December 2006

great photos
hey pip, more photos please. i only remember the interiors of sleazy bars in bangkok.

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb