Wednesday - Day 6, Morning


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 7th 2022
Published: September 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Map of the BTS system.Map of the BTS system.Map of the BTS system.

From the first time I rode this to now, they’ve added 16 stations in one direction and 9 in the other. It’s a great system and one that is used regularly. Some days more than others as the pictures have shown.
Last night it rained a ton. When I woke up to the alarm, which I was glad I remembered to set, it was still a bit drizzly. Went for a quick breakfast, but the cappuccino machine wasn’t working, so it was a disappointing start of the day. I did need to spend a little more time stretching this morning. I was a little surprised at how sore I was. As I was walking to the station, the rain stopped, meaning running was on when I get to the gym. Oh lucky me. Today I went for 9 laps. My goal is to be doing 10 laps by Friday. It was a bit tough trying to dodge the puddles, cars, bikes, and people today. Two of the other four guys from last night showed up and were running, really running, this morning. They’ll learn…. Jump rope today was 15 minutes mostly because I forgot what time I started. I think yesterday’s workout really took more out of me than I thought because I was noticeably tired, when I hadn’t been after any warmups before. I was first up for the ring today, and it started with just an easy round of shadow
Gym dogs?Gym dogs?Gym dogs?

There used to be 3 dogs living at the gym, along with the trainers who favor the poofy little Pomeranians. Now I see cats everywhere. This guy is very friendly but when he realized it was breakfast time, he was out the door.
boxing. After that we got to it. It took a few kicks and punches to get loosened up to start hitting with power, but then things started rolling. Working lots of combinations, and things are starting to be more automatic. Pad work seems pretty standard at four rounds, and then two of sparring. The end of the rounds are really tough. It ends up being either 10 power kicks, or the 10 fast kicks each leg, or even 10 teeps. Those are harder than I thought they’d be. Finished the 4 pad rounds and was exhausted. So much so that I had to ask for only one round of sparring. Everything was just a little bit too spiny to press for more. Still, the one round of sparring was tough. Lots of ” semi-clinching” and opportunities for me to throw about 100 knees. The round ended as usual where Fahlaep will either catch a kick and toss me onto the canvas, or if we are clinched, he’ll just pick me up and carry me wherever he wants. I was glad I asked for only one sparring round. I was lucky I had the energy to take off the gloves and
Gym Spirit HouseGym Spirit HouseGym Spirit House

Buildings here have a spirit house. One of the foreigners here saw the glasses of water in front and was asking if those were ok to drink. I had to do a bit of quick explanation so he didn’t grab one by accident!
pads. Drank lots of water, and had a nice slow walk to the BTS. The tiredness really hit me after I showered and was trying to decide what to do. The winning choice was take a power nap before heading out for lunch and replenishing supplies including protein drinks. Also picked up some energy gummies from the pharmacy to help the low points.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Gym parkingGym parking
Gym parking

The car actually gets moved, but it was another interesting little twist to the gym layout. The pictures on the wall are of all of the former champions


7th September 2022

Paul
Thank you for sharing your daily adventures. I truly enjoy reading them. Best wishes Paul. Enjoy your journey. Be safe

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb