I can see it but I can't find it. The tallest building in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 6th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Forgot to set my alarm last night and woke up too late to go and start the massage course! I spend all day today sat outside in the sun going through my guidebook and maps making a list of places I still want to go and see and things that I want to do. I sit by the river for hours, have some lunch and eventually stop when I can feel my back starting to burn a bit. Then off to find the Baiyoke Sky Hotel, the tallest hotel in Bangkok at 84 floors that has a rotating viewing gallery at the top. I’ve written directions/sky train info down so hopefully I should be able to find it pretty easily. Famous last words!!!! The worst thing is that I can see it - it being the tallest building in Bangkok! - But I cant seem to be able to get to it! I get off at the sky train station lonely planet had suggested expecting there to be a sign for the hotel, thinking it would be quite a tourist attraction. Nope! This is Bangkok, what makes me think they’d try and make it easy for tourists! So I set off walking……… this should be easy though as I can see where I need to be all the time. You’d think that would make it easier, but it actually just makes it all the more frustrating. I’m getting nearer though so I keep walking! I’m walking parallel to it, so if I can find a street that cuts across I figure that should take me to it. I go down three which turn out to be dead ends and see people walking down another that turns out to be a railway track, then I take another that gets me to the back of the hotel but there’s no way through. I can smell victory though. About time too as well, it’s taken me ages to get here! The next street is a winner and gets me where I want to be. Then starts the other journey. No simple one lift ride to the 84th floor. It takes three different lifts and then a walk up a flight of stairs to get there. And when I get to the top and get my camera out I realise that I’ve forgotten my wide angle lens. Maybe I'll come back again. Still get some good pics though. The best thing though is that the ticket price of 200 Baht also includes a free drink at the bar and a bowl of popcorn. Set off back and just as I get onto the pier I see the Hilton boat disappearing under the bridge. That means I’ll have to wait another 20 minutes for the next boat. When the pier attendant asks me where I need to go and I say the Hilton, he and his mate crack up laughing as they watch the boat disappearing. Feel like kicking him. Eventually do get on the boat and it seems like fate had a hand. As I get off Michelle is walking towards me. She’d come over to see if I was around and had sat and had a couple of drinks. She’d just given up on me and had been into the hotel to leave me a message. Spooky, I was obviously meant to miss that boat. We go for a drink at an outdoor bar next door to the hotel which has a really good atmosphere. We chat for a while, and she tells me about the trip that she’s been on today to Ayuthuya. She says it was brilliant and recommends it so I might find out some more details and book that. As Michelle is leaving the next day she asks if I fancy going for breakfast at the Sheraton where she’s staying. I’ll never get my massage course started!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb