Jet Lagged in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 24th 2018
Published: May 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had pretty much the whole day today in Bangkok as my flight landed at 7:15. I think the moment that it hit me that I was actually here and actually in South East Asia was when the plane taxied past a few ponds between the runway and the terminal and I got some immediate waterbird ticks. Yeah!
Immigration was surprisingly efficient and I was met at the airport by my aunt who I will be staying with for these two days while I am in Bangkok. I’ve not really got anything planned particularly for these two days in Bangkok as the main Thailand part of my trip is at the end in September just before I fly out, but it was cheaper to have the major intercontinental flights in and out of the same airport and Bangkok has the advantage of being able to stay with my aunt so I’m using the two days at this end just to rest a bit and get over jetlag so I wouldn’t be as tired arriving in a new city on my own and finding my way around. That’s what I’m doing in KL on the 26th.
So today I just rested a bit, and I am currently trying my best not to fall asleep too early so that I can get onto a reasonable time zone as soon as possible. Of course I did have a wander around the local neighbourhood to see what birds I could find and I found a nice, diverse range of common Bangkok species around the ponds and areas of greenery. Even a squirrel too. No lifers because of my trip to Thailand in April of last year, but lots of year birds and a great start to the trip. I’m planning to do, largely more of the same tomorrow. Maybe venturing a bit further but no real major trip planned, and I’ve got a crack-of-dawn flight on Saturday to KL.
Oh, and durian is an excellent flavour for ice cream by the way.

Birds Seen:

Little Egret

Black-winged Stilt

Pheasant-tailed Jacana

White-breasted Waterhen

Feral Pigeon

Black-headed Munia



White-vented Mynah


Common Mynah


Tree Sparrow


Yellow-vented Bulbul


Asian Palm Swift<br style="color:𢡦 font-family: 'Source Sans Pro', sans-serif; font-size: 15.6px; background-color: #fcfcff;" />


Zebra Dove


Asian Openbill Stork


Little Cormorant


Streaked Weaver


Red-collared Dove


Large-billed Crow


Black Drongo


Oriental Magpie Robin


Pied Fantail


Scarlet-backed Flowerpecker


Olive-backed Sunbird


Asian Pied Starling<br style="color:𢡦 font-family: 'Source Sans Pro', sans-serif; font-size: 15.6px; background-color: #fcfcff;" />


Javan Pond Heron


Striated Grassbird


Plain Prinia


Plaintive Cuckoo


House Swift


Streak-eared Bulbul


Small Minivet


Yellow-bellied Prinia


Asian Golden Weaver


Cattle Egret


Brown-throated Sunbird

Coppersmith Barbet

Black-crowned Night-heron<br style="color: #141414; font-family: 'Source Sans Pro', sans-serif; font-size: 15.6px; background-color: #fcfcff;" />Mammal:Variable Squirrel+unidentifiable microbatsHerps:Many Lined Sun-skinkWater Monitor+ a frog species, a toad species, and a turtle species that I will hopefully get around to trying to identify


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



24th May 2018

Loving the posts
William, Thanks for the postings. Missing you loads but reading these make things slightly easier.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb