How to make an entrance.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 14th 2017
Published: November 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We were up before the crack of dawn today, 5:30 am and it was already 90 degrees outside, so it was forecast to be a scorcher. I put on a fresh pair of shorts, a wicking shirt and a clean pair of socks and headed toward breakfast.



We dropped our bags outside our room for the portage to the bus and walked along the Gecko filled outer halls to breakfast. For some damn reason I turned left instead of right, as was my norm. We followed the path and found ourselves at a crossroads where the dining room was toward our right across the open pond.



We turned in the right direction, and as I approached the tables, I attempted to step down and missed, resulting is a gracefull fall into the pond! Yup I was that guy who fell into the green muck filled pond in front of the entire restaurant.



Big John from Florida, he of China Spree fame of several years ago, ever the fireman, without hesitation reached out a helping hand and pulled me, dripping to safety. Mike of course ever concerned for his compatriots safety, took photos and laughed.



Now I am covered in goo, green water and soaking wet, when suddenly my suitcase passes me on its way to the bus! I need a change of clothes for sure so I chase the porter and catch up about the time he reaches the bus. By now I am ready to strip off these soaking wet clothes and proceed to do so in the parking lot! I attack my suitcase, find some dry clothes and change in the parkinglot. Feeling much better, I head to breakfast only to be greeted by concern, applause and good natured jiving. All was good.



It was now time to assess the damages. To the body, none; to my backpack, one wet strap; to my brand new electronic camera...disaster!.



I quickly pulled the battery and headed to my room to try to dry it out with the hair dryer. I was able to dry the battery and memory slots very well, but there was some water in the view finder and the lens. No way the dryer would help that. So I headed back to the bus, opened the battery slot and left the camera in the sun to see if I could dry out the water. So far, the camera will turn on, but not off. The lens will move in and out as directed, but due to moisture, will not focus, yet. It will also not turn off, so I took out the battery and put the camera back in the sun. At this writing, it is after lunch and the lens is much clearer. I am hoping for a full recovery for me and the camera.



As far as travel today was another bus day. If I could make a suggestion to World Spree, fly both ways to and from Chaing Mai. The 14 hours plus in the bus is not worth the meager historical sights. We could have done this in fewer days, seen more and been in the bus less. Many agreed.



So our 10 hours in the bus were first broken by a stop at a coffee shop and temple complex. This was an active temple with a monk providing blessings and many locals praying. It was moving. We walked around enjoyed the sights but the 97 degree heat was a little too much. I did use my cooling towel, which worked suprisingly well, but the A/C on the bus was a blessing.



We traveled another 45 minutes and stopped for fuel. Our bus uses natural gas, clean, but it takes 20 minutes to refuel, during the process we could not be near the bus. So we hit the coffee shop, shopped for sweets and, of course, ice cream. Soon we were allowed back on the bus and off again for another 2 hours and lunch.



Lunch was at a garden restaurant, a most unique setting to be sure. The owner was once tour guide who fell in love with Japanese Gardens. He saved his money and built a multi acre garden/ restaurant combination. The gardens were beautiful, as we walked to our little alcove where the places were set OUTSIDE. OK it was noon, 98 degrees and hmid. Sorry, I don't care how pretty the setting it was hot!



The food was plentiful, buffet and very tasty, but it was really too hot to eat outside with any comfort. Although we still had nearly 45 minutes before we needed to be back in the bus, most wandered to the bus straight away, so we left a little early. We have another 2 hours to go, but Tan tells us we have a sight seeing stop on the River Kwai. Yes that river of movie fame, Bridge over the River Kwai.



So our final stop was our best. We did nit see any bridges but we did cross on onto an island of 400 ruins. Now once again the we were worth the stop. Old, ramshackle ruins that had nothing but character, unlike the more recent buildings which featured fiberglass Buddha's painted with cheap laytex. These were truly honoring the great Buddah.



One temple complex was a miniature of the Ankor Wat complex we are going to see in Cambodia, so it was not to have the Thai perspective of this great temple. Back on the bus and off to the Sheraton Orchard hotel where I need to do some serious maintainance.



As you may recall, my morning did not start out too well. It began with a drop in the pond, and my wet clothes did not dry at all under the bus. In fact when they came out they eschewed quite the fond fragrance of rancid water. My shoes were sopping wet as well. Time for action.



Once I heckled into the room, I dropped the clothes in the bath tub, added shampoo, jumped and turned on the water. Like Lucy Ball in the wine press episode, I began stomping and pressing the clothes over and over again. Soap, Stomp, Rinse repeat three times before the odor and the green left the clothes. Next I rigged u a clothe line in the bathroom, wrung out the water as best as possible and hung the clothes to dry.



The shoes were another matter. I pulled the insoles and hit them with the hair dryer. I opened the shoes to the air and hope by tomorrow some progress will result on drying. It was a full 45 minutes before I cleaned myself up, by them Mike Rick and Dick went shopping and dinner.



I dressed, headed downstairs and out to the night. I took a walk to Chinatown, didn't see much and took a tuk tuk back to the hotel. I stopped at the subway next door, enjoyed a ham and chicken on honey oat and a diet pop. I was in heaven. Back to the room and here I sit writing the blog.



I did investigate the camera status, and I am sad to report the patient is still on life support. If anyone has any idea what I can do I am all ears, but right now there is water in the lens, moisture inside the view screen and the system does not turn off.. When I put in the battery it turns on, but other than moving the lenz in and out, not much else works. I fear the worst.

I also checked my body over while in the shower ad did find a small injury to my right leg where I must have hit the side steps as I fell. Nothing big just a little black and blue. The camera faired much worse.



Photos

1 Beautiful ancient Buddah

2 Central Tower built 1370

3 Copy of Ankor Watson

4 Tree Buddah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb