The Sky Bridge, Nantou


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan
February 23rd 2016
Published: February 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

The Sky BridgeThe Sky BridgeThe Sky Bridge

Why waste time taking a photo of me? Let's just get going!
At 204m long, the Sky Bridge is the longest suspension bridge in Taiwan. It is a ladder-style bridge with 265 stairs and a drop between the two ends of 5.65m. My first sight of it left me stunned by the height and the length of it. This is definitely not for anyone with a fear of heights. I am an adrenaline junkie so couldn't wait to get on it and dragged my friend with me. Halfway across, we discovered she didn't like heights! But I was able to distract her by asking what the huge bird was that I could see flying in the distance. It was an eagle. Just amazing.



On the other side are stalls and places to get snacks and drinks and a chance to prepare yourself for the walk back. Part of the fun was watching the expressions on the others crossing it. Fear, trepidation, amazement and excitement. Even better were the couple who sat down partway across, turned round and crawled back.



The area around the Bridge was also interesting - a dragonfruit plantation and tea plantations were something I just had to photograph which my Taiwanese friends thought was funny as they take these things for granted.



Making the trip from Taichung is absolutely worth it. It was an experience I will never forget and one I will do again on my next trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

GardensGardens
Gardens

The gardens at the bridge.
The Monkey Bridge signThe Monkey Bridge sign
The Monkey Bridge sign

My friends also called the bridge The Monkey Bridge due to the history of area and part of the name of the area means 'monkey'.
PineapplePineapple
Pineapple

We found this double-headed pineapple on display at the stalls on the other side of the bridge.


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb