Lukang


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Lugang
February 23rd 2016
Published: February 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

The glass makerThe glass makerThe glass maker

Tiny shop, not designed for travellers with backpacks on, but well worth a visit. A great variety of cheap but beautiful souvenirs of all shapes and sizes.
I was taken to Lukang by my Taiwanese friends, who thought I would enjoy seeing this charming old town, one of the oldest in Taiwan. I fell in love with the narrow, paved streets, the inexpensive traditional crafts for sale and the atmosphere. It was very busy and I found that I was the only Westerner in sight. Longshan Temple was worth a visit but the smoke from the incense that was being burned made it hard to see anything at times. On my own, would I have bothered to find my way there from Taichung? No. But if you have the time, and the ability to find the correct bus, then it is probably worth a visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Try something differentTry something different
Try something different

My friends said I absolutely had to try this. I didn't have the heart to tell them I thought it tasted like mud.
TempleTemple
Temple

If you don't like incense or smoke, don't spend too much time at the temples. Between people and smoke and grey skies, getting good clear photos can be difficult.
Narrow streetsNarrow streets
Narrow streets

As the only Westerner in sight, and a very tall one, at least I could see over the top of most people but the streets were certainly narrow and busy.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb