Milestones


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
April 15th 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I like this one the bestI like this one the bestI like this one the best

About 15 mins from my house...
A momentous week has come and gone and it was fantastic. First off, I am now a legitimate alien working here in Taiwan, as my work visa was stamped and my Alien Resident Card (ARC) was given to me! I can now stop living in fear.

I also passed my "trial" period at work and was not fired, amazingly enough. This now entitles me to get paid a normal salary, and get a monthly paycheck like everyone else. I also get to pay taxes like everyone else, but I'll take it. Next week is "demonstration week" that lets the student's parents come in and observe all my perfectly run classes. It does put some added pressure on me, but as you all know, I live for such a thing...actually, I am quite nervous as the other Chinese teachers have been telling me if I do a good job I could get fired. Yikes!

My Chinese lessons aren't without their milestones as well. I have memorized (writing, reading, speaking) 100 characters, and I don't know how many actual words. This is much harder then it seems, as every character is like a little piece of art. And then when characters
Taipei 101 in its splendorTaipei 101 in its splendorTaipei 101 in its splendor

Always advertising...
like "shi" and "shu" are completely different it gets even harder.

So things are progressing at a break neck speed. I took the Foreign Service Written Exam last Saturday. It was painstakingly long, and pretty difficult. I will find if I make the grade sometime in July.

I've been eating healthy, so all you mothers out there can stop worrying. Maybe a little too healthy! I have tried things like duck tongues, sea eel on a stick, chicken hearts, stinky tofu, and yes, eve chicken ass! They are all delicious in their own special way. I just hope I don't get bird flu from all the chicken ass that I'm eating!

Now I am off to a Taiwanese baseball game. The xongdi xiang versus the tong yi!! Or the Brother Elephants vs The presidents. It should be interesting, as these two powerhouses are major rivals! I just hope the tear gas doesn't need to be used.

I hope this letter finds everyone well. Happy Easter!

Ty



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

A Chinese roof?A Chinese roof?
A Chinese roof?

Overlooking a mountain...
Along the northcoastAlong the northcoast
Along the northcoast

Next stop, mainland China...dun dun dun.
My stomping groundsMy stomping grounds
My stomping grounds

I eat dinner here a lot...
I used to look like thisI used to look like this
I used to look like this

Then I cut my hair all off...


18th April 2006

Fantastic photos!
Great photos! I'm not too sure about the menu? Happy Easter to you, also! Hope you are well and happy and good luck on you!
22nd April 2006

ty flash is your friend and her two hot little sisters exposure+exposure compensation

Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb