She's GONE!!!


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
March 24th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My beautiful city...My beautiful city...My beautiful city...

Taipei on a sunny day.
For 1 hour and 37 minutes, she was the love of my life and my best friend. We ran two errands together before she left without even saying goodbye. We became so close so fast, and then the heartbreak began when she left. I couldn’t speak to anyone. I could barely eat. Even now, a week after she disappered, I still quietly cry myself to sleep. I was simply head-over-heals in love! We all know that feeling that I’m talking about. Utter and tragic heartbreak…that day… that infamous day. That day that my bike was stolen from under my nose…my new bike that I bought last Saturady…she was my love, my life, and the fire in my soul… and I’m completely lost without her.

Dramatics aside, I really did get my new bike stolen last Saturday. I woke up in such a good mood, and headed directly to the “Giant” dealership to get the new beauty I had my eyes on for the past 3 weeks. It was one of those folding bikes that breaks down into a small little ball so I could take it upstairs to my apartment or to my school. It was lightweight, super fast, and
My new old Purple PattiMy new old Purple PattiMy new old Purple Patti

Check out the basket...
perfect for me. However, after two errands to the fish market and the hardware store, she vanished before my eyes. I had locked it to a pole downstairs from my apartment, among all the other bikes there. I used one of those small semi-sturdy cable locks to do the trick. Mine was 1 of 3 others that were even locked. Unfortunatly, a large set of wire cutters must have done the trick, because when I came back down, ready to run my next errand (which, ironically enough, was to go get a bigger lock…!) she was gone. She was mine for a measly 1 hour and 37 minutes, and I didn’t even get to say goodbye.

Now, a week later, I seriously downgraded. My baby was $120USD, a pretty penny here in Taipei. I now ride Purple Patty, complete with basket and all. She squeaks when she stops, she squeaks when she changes gear (all 3 of them), and she cost me $12USD, $13USD with the Monster Lock included…However, on a high note, she would be the last bike to be stolen, as she somewhat “blends in” with the other bikes around town. In retrospect, she is perfect for
My fish tank before Avian Fish FluMy fish tank before Avian Fish FluMy fish tank before Avian Fish Flu

The rest is history. I now have 3 fish...don't ask.
me…cheap, old, and squeaky. As a matter of fact, I don’t think I could have managed the expensive one. I’m one of those guys that can’t commit to a long term relationship, and the expensive one really expected me to be there for her…all the time. But at the same time, I feel kind of used. Here I spend all this money or her, and she leaves without even saying goodbye. Go figure…

Ty



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My room with a viewMy room with a view
My room with a view

Daan Forest Park...google it
My nightmarketMy nightmarket
My nightmarket

Shida Night Market...2 mins from my home.
Up north...DanshuiUp north...Danshui
Up north...Danshui

A cool little fishing village
Lover's Bridge in DanshuaiLover's Bridge in Danshuai
Lover's Bridge in Danshuai

Even in the rain...its still kind of romantic. The harbor had all these colorful boats though.
Gotta love this signGotta love this sign
Gotta love this sign

If you can't read it: "To prevent bird flu from spreading, do not feed or touch birds or doves in the wharf.


24th March 2006

Carpe Diem
We are grieving with you, Ty! Why is it that the good young ones are taken so early from our lives? However, those high maintenance models can suck the life from you... Good luck to you and Purple Patty. Remember...slow and steady wins the race!
24th March 2006

man, we do not have good luck with bikes. I will grieve for her
24th March 2006

Wow
Wow, Tyler, what a story. Your literary skills are really developing. The personification was great. Sorry to hear about the bike though. A foldable bike sounds like a good idea. Enjoyed the photos. Thanks for writing. Susan, Bob, and Trevor

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb