Taiwan: The First Week


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
February 24th 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Taiwan


China AirlinesChina AirlinesChina Airlines

The 747 that I flew over the Pacific in. Shot taken through the window of the airport.
I flew into Taiwan late on Thursday, February 18th. That night, bleary-eyed and giddy, I checked into the Taipei Backpacker's Hostel, where I've been staying ever since. The Mandarin Training Center, the language program where I will soon begin studying, does not offer housing to its 1500 students, so I'm in the middle of the somewhat daunting process of looking for an apartment now.
Since my arrival, I've had nothing but time on my hand and an entire city to explore. With baby steps at first (the time difference between Taiwan and Pennsylvania is 13 hours, so the jet lag was fierce), I've been walking the streets every day, taking pictures and practicing my clumsy Mandarin in coffee shops and restaurants, and in chance encounters with patient strangers. I've found the people here to be astoundingly friendly and warm. Whether it was the two gossipy, friendly tea shop owners who gave me a discount on their black tea, the ancient man from Hong Kong who invited me to his restaurant, or the woman who gave me her umbrella when she saw I was about to venture out into a dark rainy night without one to find a hostel I'd never been
Feeding squirrelsFeeding squirrelsFeeding squirrels

In the 228 Peace Memorial park, just a few minutes walk from my hostel.
to before, the people I've encountered have been remarkable and endearing.
Though I have been stricken occasionally with loneliness and apprehension, my experience so far has been magical. I will continue to update this blog with photos and stories as they arise, and I appreciate any comments you (the avid Reader) feel inspired to contribute.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Feeding birdsFeeding birds
Feeding birds

Also in 228.
Big GateBig Gate
Big Gate

At the entrance to the Chiang Kai Shek Memorial.
C.K.S. MemorialC.K.S. Memorial
C.K.S. Memorial

Take a look at the size of the people at the base of that building to get a sense of the size. These people build them big.
Hunter!Hunter!
Hunter!

One of the many stray cats who inhabit the grounds of the C.K.S. Memorial. This one has its eye on the humongous koi in the pond.
King meKing me
King me

A lively, if grizzled, round of...something. Go? Checkers? Couldn't tell.
LongShan TempleLongShan Temple
LongShan Temple

"Dragon Mountain" Temple. Packed with hundreds of people who came to burn incense and leave gifts and food as offerings to their ancestors. A beautiful and bizarre mixing of worlds, to see young trendy teens, cell phones in hand, kowtowing next to monks with shaved heads and gray habits.
IncenseIncense
Incense

At LongShan.
ScooterScooter
Scooter

As seen from the 11th floor. Scooters are ubiquitous in Taipei, making their ways across lanes, over sidewalks, and through crowded night markets with abandon.
What the...?What the...?
What the...?

A statue at the Taipei Main Station MRT stop (MRT is the subway system that runs through the city). Note that there is water running constantly down the figure's body.
Public ToiletPublic Toilet
Public Toilet

Not even a bar to hold onto. Then again, would you really want to?
Taipei 101Taipei 101
Taipei 101

A reaaaally tall building. Like I said, they build them big. They say the structure is meant to resemble that of bamboo.


25th February 2010

Good stuff Brian! Keep the stories coming and have a great time. And learn to keep your balance by squatting :-). Good luck with apartment hunting (by yourself???). Bob
25th February 2010

Wow!
Happy Valentine's Day, Brian!! I love you. I miss you. (The pictures are very cool. Thanks for sharing your experience with us--Betsy, James, Zoe)
26th February 2010

To fruits from toots
It looks like you're off to an amazing start on your journey in Taiwan! I hope the experience continues to be awesome, stay safe and healthy! Also, Baye Shan's parents said they would be happy to help you out if you need anything at all, so I will email their contact info. They're incredibly nice, hit them up if you want a free dinner, need a place to stay, or feel the need for some parental guidance!
27th February 2010

Wow!
Happy Valentine's Day, Brian!! I love you. I miss you. (The pictures are very cool. Thanks for sharing your experience with us--Betsy, James, Zoe)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 53; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb