How random...?


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sexist K-OK 30 secs
K-okK-okK-ok

Dad & lucky going off...notice the disco ball...

In the name of randomness - here is one....



Went to Karoke w/the pops & his ol' lady. I was expecting a private room w/a big screen tv & plenty of beverages & snacks (in movies such as Lost in Translation, etc.). Little did I know...we went to this place where my dad's gf knows the woman (sold houses for her). It was a hole in the wall w/no ventilation & complete w/disco ball & karoke girls who sat w/the men (drinking & singing). Wow.

There was about 10 songs in the 10 lb. song binder. Nonetheless, I had fun...downed a bowl of pistachios while my dad & his gf sang taiwanese songs. I attempted several chinese songs...some with more success than others. But it was easy to get away with on the echoing effect on the microphone. (I would just mumble over words I didn't know...REALLY effective 😊 And I believe that the K-ok system is sexist...as it looped asian women in bad bikinis (in the 90's) gazing down at the sea or coming down the slide of a playground. (huh???) I snipped a video of it...haha. I recall my aunt telling me that on her last trip,
Buddhist EventBuddhist EventBuddhist Event

Me & my pops. I had to nudge him to get him to turn his lips up! :)
a man approached her on the train & asked her if she wanted to be in a karoke video. Knuch knuck knuck....

This past weekend...

There was a Buddhist ceremony happening this weekend just a few hundred meters from where I stay. It was put together by the local temple just up the street. This month, according to the Lunar Calendar, is the 7th month - the month where hell's doors open & all the spirits are roaming around. So the ceremony was done to bless all the spirits and also to bless all the victims in an earthquake in China & the tsunami a few months ago. One can also get individual blessings for unborn babies, deceased relatives, etc. It was a great event & I participated at a perfect time...=)

I chanted & also participated in a few ceremonies with the Buddha. It was a challenge for me, as I had to follow the chanting from a book, but thank god (i mean buddha), there was bopomofo (which is the pronunciation key for Mandarin in Taiwan). At the end of it, I felt much lighter & much calmer. It is there, that I was first
Buddhist Event 2Buddhist Event 2Buddhist Event 2

Me & Lucky (dad's gf)
referred to as Shi Chie (it's the way they 'sister' in the kung-fu movies! Hiyahhh!)! It was REALLY cool.

And the people were SOOOOO sweet & generous...it was like a different world. B/c they served you all 3 meals (i KNOW!), they were constantly making sure you were fed & were comfortable! WOW. The Shi-Fu (Master of the temple) is very young & was actually super cool. His words take me back to the things I would constantly hear in India - about love, acknowledging the buddha nature within us...it was REALLY nice to hear those things.

Then I had to go to Hong Kong..............


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Buddhist Event 3Buddhist Event 3
Buddhist Event 3

Dad & lucky. Can you say passport photos?


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb