Taiwan Part 8 - 3 weeks of sickness


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
March 8th 2008
Published: March 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I've been really sick for the past 3 weeks. About 3 weeks ago I had a bad cough. I went to a Doctor in Sansia. The doctor there spoke English and asked me about three questions felt my forhead then sent me to the next room where the nurse injected me with a massive needle. I was warned about the needle before hand. Apparently from what I was told its quiet common to get, and is full of immune boosters etc. He then gave me a pile of medicine and sent me on my way. The medicine made me feel really really strange, so after 2 days I went off of it. I found it peculiar that he gave me 5 pills to take 3 times daily for a cough. So a few days later my cough was gone on its own and I was ok, until the next week, Week 2



Week 2, I caught a stomache bug from school. So that was a really bad week. There's nothing like teaching and wondering if your going to be sick mid lesson! So I was able to mission it though the week and let the bug run its course. So things are looking up right! Nope. Things are only to get worse...



Week 3: The Tuesday afternoon of week 3 I had to leave school in the afternoon and Wednesday I didn't go in at all. I had had a really high fever for the past 2 days. Thursday night still fever stricken I went to a doctor that the school reccomended (apparently the previous doctor is known for being really sketchy). The School Recommended Doctor said I had really bad tonsillitus, so he gave me medicine. So I took the morning and afternoon doses and when I came home from school Friday I couldn't keep anything down. I still had a really high fever. So I was in really bad shape. I had a fever and chills and I was shaking and dehydrated. So Lisa called the doctor and he said to come in and see him, so I went in and saw him and he said I'd have to go to the hospital to get an IV. So Lisa and I went to the hospital and it was awful because I felt so pathetic and sick and crappy and feeling like an outsider, I was trying not to cry. The ER Doctor gave me 3 injections to reduce my fever,etc. then they took blood for tests. Then after they sent me up to the Nose Ear Throat doctor. It was awesome because he had this machine that sucked all the boogies out of my nose. So the Hospital Doctor perscribed different medicine then the one the original doctor prescribed. and now I go back Monday for a follow up. So I feel a lot better today. It was really trippy being in a foreign ER. While we were sitting and waiting a guy game in who had gotten in a car accident and his leg was totally broken, it was almost J shaped. So he tried to move his foot and you could see the skin on the side of his leg pop out a bit because that's where the bone was. So that was too bad/interesting to see.

So too look on the bright side my immune system should be pretty up to speed by the time I get back home. Working with all these small children I know there will be more sickness to come. I'm glad that all the doctors and staff are all really friendly and are very accomodating. So hopefully good news on Monday!


Advertisement



9th March 2008

: (
That really sucks! I hope your health is on its way up so you can start enjoying your time there again. Boogie sucking machine sounds awesome. TAKE CARE JENNY!!!!
10th March 2008

Hope you are feeling better
Hey Jenny, Just read your update, and I hope you feell better as well! Maybe next time, you can ask the school to recommend doctors who prescribed Asian medicine. It might work better than the western drug they prescribe! G
2nd April 2008

i just heard u sickened again from patrick yesterday.... hope u will get better soon...... save ur energy to springscream.... take a big rest and get more water... take care

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb