Taipei, Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
May 8th 2007
Published: May 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

101 Building101 Building101 Building

Picture of the 101 Building
Taipei is a wonderful city. It's easy to get around on the subway or bus. I stayed at a hostel. The lady running it was friendly and helpful. I had the room (one bunk bed & desk) to myself for 2 nights and on the 3rd night a girl from Korea shared it.

On Wednesday I went to the National Palace Museum - it had beautiful things. Drank a lovely pot of lavender tea and wandered the musuem. I also visited the Confucious Temple and Dolongdong Boan temple. The temples here are highly decorative. The lady at the hostel told me that people who built temples would have to sacrifice their lives, so they kept building or decorating them the rest of their -natural- lives.

On Thursday I took the subway to the end - Danshuei - to see the sea. I had lunch and visited Fisherman's Wharf (virtually empty, maybe it's more popular on weekends). I went to Longshan temple and sat looking at all the details of the temple and breathing in the warm incense-laden air. Also went to the 101 Building - tallest in world. Didn't go up - not feeling that brave.

Left
Outside the 101 BuildingOutside the 101 BuildingOutside the 101 Building

Isn't this also in Philadelphia?
Friday for Bangkok, Thailand~

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb