Time is the limit in Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei
April 9th 2018
Published: April 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Taipei is currently hailed as the gourmet central in the world. Every year there is a new praise from some major media / organization for recognition of their concerted effort in gourmet food. This year I learned that there are multiple Michelin rated restaurants and food vendors in Taipei! The street food culture is so deeply ingrained that even Michelin had to give them a nod. Luckily I think I covered most of those food vendors this trip.
But here is m my must-eat list of Taipei street food (sorry too busy eating and forgot to snap photos):
1. Big fried chicken at Shihlin night market: huge, crispy, hot (fresh out of the fryer almost impossible to handle), great flavor and the only kind of white chicken meat that I’d eat. There are two different locations at the night market but I usually line up at the original location at the entrance.
2. Pepper buns: lots of different locations but I usually do the Shihlin market vendor. Again hot and a line, basically a meat ball inside a flaky pastry dough ball, baked on the walls of a clay oven.
3. Scallion pancakes: again this is a staple in every corner of Taipei proper. I love the stand in Yongkang Street, there is always a line but they go pretty fast.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb