Taipei 1 Day


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taipei » Danshui
May 26th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm on a planeI'm on a planeI'm on a plane

3-4-3 TVs with movies, shows, games, music
At some point around midnight or so I made it to LAX. I was feeling a little rushed, but not as much as when I left FL. Passed a bunch of airlines... still wondering if Malaysian truly exists... and there they are down the third row. Now I just have to hope that a series of events occurs that results in me boarding this plane. OK, my ticket is confirmed, it's looking pretty good until they say that having a one-way ticket is no good and i have to buy my onward ticket now. No problem, I'll go to Hong Kong... but for some reason I have to go to another airline to buy that ticket. Over at Cathay, they kinda take forever, but the ticket costs what I expect. Hey this should be simple; I just want to be on the plane. Let's have it, Malaysia. Blah blah blah, i'm in line to board, blah blah blah, sweet emergency exit row is awesome. Watch Gran Torino, Paul Blart, a little Bride Wars, and Juno. Their movie watching device was pretty decent, there were maybe 20-30 movies to choose from; I could have watched Speed with Keanu Reeves. Plus there were some tv shows, a jukebox with Britney Spears' CD, and Tetris. There was a little sleep in there somewhere, not too much though.

That's it, I'm there. Oh yeah, they never checked for that onward travel thing, so that was just an unnecessary hassle. But they did tell me at the point of entry that i needed to know the address i was staying at some i could write it on this little card. That was another unnecessary hassle, they didn't really look at it once i got it. I didn't have the address only a phone number. It's stored in my cell phone but the battery was dead and the charger was in checked baggage. I pull out my laptop and luckily find a signal, i get through all the pages that want to load in chinese now to my email with the phone number i need, still I have no money but i found a payphone that takes credit cards. No one else is around anymore, i'm the last person from the plane. I fill out my card that they don't check and go through the magic door that frees me from the airport.

Naya & Mina were there to greet me; they hadn't slept all night either so were all in a good state of mind, and we did not nap that day. Took a bus, dropped off bags, walked, ferried, sweated, ate, drank an occassional coffee.


Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

GeodesicGeodesic
Geodesic

A geodesic is basically a straight line on a curved surface. Although this line seems curved, it is actually the shortest and most direct path between these 2 points.
Capital ______Capital ______
Capital ______

there were so many signs that i started to think that maybe i was transporting something
Just In CaseJust In Case
Just In Case

they got it if i need it
Taipei Metro StationTaipei Metro Station
Taipei Metro Station

X-Men poster, 7-11 colors in background


27th May 2009

Taipei days!
Thank heavens for 7-11. I can't believe you get fined for chewing gum! Did you try the taiwan beer yet!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb