Scootin Around


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
September 19th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My new LOVE- The Black PantherMy new LOVE- The Black PantherMy new LOVE- The Black Panther

I love to scoot around town on this thing, the best NT$10,000 I will ever spend.
So I have been very lazy and I have not blogged in a while. Things have been very busy here and I have been tired and sick. Over the past 2 weeks I have traveled to Kaohsiung to visit Mary and into Taichung city with a group of friends.
When I was down in Kaohsiung Mary and I did lots of shopping and eating. Unfortunatly it was raining so we couldnt sightsee very much. But we did ride her scooter in the rain! We had to purchase these really cool raincoats and masks. We even looked like locals once we put our helmets on!

This past week I purchased my very own scooter! I now i have a way to get around my town without walking. I am excited to explore the different things in town. The first night I had my scooter my coteacher and I drove to the pool. It is about 10min away from my house, and I was freaking out since I have never driven a scooter before. I eventually got the hang of it and now I am obsessed. I looked forward to going home from school so I can scoot around town.

Over
3 people on a 50cc3 people on a 50cc3 people on a 50cc

I dont think we should have done this, since it was my third time ever driving the thing!
the weekend Mary and Muoy came to visit! I picked Mary up at the train station on my scooter and we went to our favorite chicken place. We have developed a sick obsession with the chicken, I must limit myself to eating it once a week, cause I could eat it everyday! We went to the store too cause I have an ant problem that I have to fix. Note: the ants here are very small and about 100 times faster than the ants at home. I think they must be attracted to my stinky shoes. Oh another note: I saw a cockroach in my bathroom last night, I was so paraniod I could hardly sleep. So Mary and I ate our chicken then we walked back to the train station to wait for Muoy. After she got in we walked thru town and went to the night market and got some more food. After we chilled at my crib for a while we decided we were hungry again, so being the brilliant ones we are, we took my scooter out with all three of us on it. Its true i can fit 3 adults on my scooter, although very uncomfortably. We scootered around town and finally over to McDonalds. What's a weekend without McDonalds?

On Saturday we took the bus into the city and met up with Michelle, Jason, and Jen. Our plan was to go to a mexican restaurant. We found the place and ordered our food. We were all pretty excited until our food actually arrived. Their version of nachos....doritos with "welfare" cheese on it. Needless to say this is as good as it got. The food was expensive and nasty. I will not be visiting Frog's again anytime soon. After our dissapointing meal we headed to the shopping area. We pretty much shopped the rest of the day and I got my nails done, of course! Mary and I also found a way to collet more Doraemon. In case you dont know, Doraemon is one of my favorite things here and for every 77NT you spend at 7-11 you get a free Doraemon maganet. So I have been making unessesary trips to 7-11 just to get more magnets. I am obsessedIAt the night market Mary and I found this lady who was selling them for 3 for 50NT, WOOHOO we could even pick with countries we wanted. I was so happy to get Taiwan and Japan. Actaully it might have been one of my happiest moments in life so far.....haha. After a long day Mary, Muoy and I took the train back to Dajia and we all fell right asleep. On Sunday we walked around my town and went shopping and ate some more food. It was a great weekend and this weekend Mary and I are planning on meeting up in Tainan to look at some more historical parts of Taiwan. NO SHOPPING because we dont have much money left, and we still have over 2 weeks til pay day, boo.

School is going well, I love the students although some of them still runaway from me. When I see them out in town all I hear is "teacher Rachel, teacher Rachel". I cant hide anywhere!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The goatThe goat
The goat

I have no idea what the purpose is
Toilets in the Train StationToilets in the Train Station
Toilets in the Train Station

Yes they are real toilets used as seats at the train station, we had some fun with them (for certain reasons they have not all been posted)


31st December 2006

food
Yes, it would be good to limit your chicken to once a week. Did you know that in this country, more than 80% of the chicken we consume has bacteria?

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb