Intermediaries


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
August 21st 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Their knobbly knees and big eyes (all brown) are starting to grow on me. Maybe I can handle this.


Culture Shock Moment

I’m constantly amazed and annoyed that there are two intermediaries between me and my landlady: Patricia (the flaky Head Homeroom teacher at the kindy) and the real estate agent that found the place for me. The thing is, I knew when I moved in that the reason I was getting such a great place (relative to the disastrous mess) was because my landlady was in some sort of financial straights and needed to take advantage of the real estate she owned (my place). When I signed the lease - which was 100% in Chinese - the real estate agent took my deposit to hold onto, because she was afraid my landlady would run off with it. And the agent said this in front of my landlady.

The thing is, I don’t know the names or phone numbers of the agent or my landlady, and with me contemplating quitting kindy (and knowing that this will damage my relationship with Patricia), I don’t know what I’m going to do. Also, I moved in two weeks ago. Why is my shower still broken?


Advertisement



23rd September 2007

Wobblies
Small children are horrible, snotty, noisy, confusing little creatures that can be just totally amazing. The cuteness and rare moments of insight are what keeps the rest of us from becoming homicidal maniacs. This travelblog thing just emailed me hella times and was like "Roz updated her shit!" But it's all from August and I haven't even been able to get onto this site in months, so basically travelblog is hella janky. I hope stuff is super!
26th September 2007

Backdating
Actually, I was backdating a bunch of stuff I had typed, but hadn't been able to post until now. I'm still typing up the September stuff.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb