The First Big Oops


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
August 20th 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I told myself when I bought this journal that I was allowed to leave Taiwan once I’d filled all 400 pages. I don’t know if this means I’ll be writing everyday in an effort to get out of here faster, or write only once a month or so in order to prolong my stay. Probably a mixture of both, I daresay.

Had my first truly stupid work moment today. Honestly thought my class started at 6:50 p.m. Arrived at 5:30 p.m., thinking I had over an hour to prep for my class - only to find out when I arrived that everyone thought I had died or something - my class had started at 5:00 p.m. and I hadn’t shown up. So I spent ten minutes prepping, and then took over my class after break. Turns out that my early class is on Mondays and my late class is on Tuesdays and I had mixed them up. Oops!

Am still undecided about kindy, but am sort of leaning towards keeping it. It’s mostly for financial reasons (I’d like to travel some while I’m here, and twenty hours a week of buxiban isn’t really conducive to that), but it’s also partially so I won’t look like a total wimp at work as well. After all, I did sell them a year of my life, and I would really like a letter of recommendation out of all of this, as mercenary as that sounds. I came over here knowing that law school was what I wanted when I went back to the States, and…well…I didn’t do so hot at university. (On a random tangent, Naomi has got me saying things like Uni and trousers. Thought I should point that out to folks back home. Don’t laugh at me when I randomly spew British-isms. It’s and Naomi and Jez, I swear. Blame them.) I’m kind of hoping law schools will view Hess as exotic, rather than as the money-grubbing corporation it actually is.

Plus, the kids are really starting to grow on me. Sometimes, this feels quite literal. No stressing, I told myself.


Culture Shock Moment

It wouldn’t be Taiwan culture shock without squat ‘n’ drop toilets. ‘Nuff said.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb