Last Day of Classes


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

First off, I logged onto travelblog.com today and was pleasantly surprised to find that many of my pictures from older blog entries have been recovered. Awesome! Because I don't have the time or energy to re upload them. Now all they need are captions-stay tuned.

Today was the final day of classes, which is hard to believe. I can remember writing my entry 'First Day of Classes', and wow does that seem like so long ago. As last Friday was the final, this week was sort of pointless. Monday had somewhat structured classes, Tuesday we watched movies, and today we had a tea party. One of the teachers demonstrated and narrated (in Chinese, of course) the art of Chinese tea time. It was fun, and I drank a lot of good tea.

Today was also the last tutoring session I had with the two kids I tutor. They gave me a thank you card written in Chinese that I understood, which was very exciting.

The whole summer has been very exciting, though very long. I think these past 2 months have been the longest two months of my life, though that is not a bad thing. It's just
Tea TimeTea TimeTea Time

Teacher Bai soaking the leaves
that I have worked and studied harder for classes than I ever have before. I really don't know how kids here manage it. I suppose growing up with this workload makes it more bearable, but it's hard to imagine. I was only taking 4 language classes, not a full academic listing of courses.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



22nd August 2007

Congratulations!
Congrats, Meghan! Sounds like its been an intense, growing, exhausting and transformative summer, typhoon and all. Lots of folks are proud of you back in Newton -- it's been fun following along your journey via your blog. Thanks for sharing the journey with us

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb