"Was Lost, but Now is FOUND"


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Taichung » Dajia
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Its a MIRACLE!!!! My scooter has been recovered and thankfully unharmed. But only in my life could such a crazy story accompany it.
So the police called me this morning to let me know that they had found my scooter. Well it wasnt that simple since he didnt speak much English and I dont speack much Chinese. Eventually we understand each other and I figure out I need to walk to the police station and to have a friend who speaks Chinese come with me. So I get to the police station and they ovbviously knew who I was since, who can forget me? They took me to see my scooter to make sure it was ok and nothing was missing. But seriously who would want a pink raincoat or a pink helmet? The scooter was ok so I headed back into the station to wait for Sam to get there so he could translate.
In the mean time there were a few crazy looking fellas in the station handcuffed to the wall. The police officer who was helping me talked to one of them and motioned to me a few times. The crazy looking old guy looks over at me and said in English, " Sorry, my head is bad." I said ok, thinking to myself, no, really? I became even more curious since there was obviously a story here and I couldnt understand much of the Chinese. Eventually Sam showed up and they filled them on what had happened.

The story was that the man is mentally disabled and he just wanders around all day with nothing to do, so he steals things. Yes, this is not his first time at the station. Hes a VIP frequent customer. So I guess since I didnt lock my scooter, he just wheeled it off to the nearest locksmith to have a key made for the scooter. The locksmith wanted to see proof of ownership, so the crazy old man said he had to go home to get it. He never returned to the store so the locksmith knew something was up. He called the police and they went to the shop and they ran a check on the scooter and ironically I had just filled my report a few hours earlier. So they took my scooter back to the station and looked for the guy. Im not quite sure how they found the dude, but when they went to arrest him, he resisted and scratched an officer so they booked him. It wouldnt suprise me if he had his own personalized jail cell.

We just hung out at the station for about 2 hours, they asked me if I wanted to press charges or anything, I was like no, I just want my scooter so I dont have to walk. Walking to school and sweating for one day was one day too many for me. I enjoy the nice breeze when crusing on my scooter. So I had to sign a bunch of papers and put my thumb print all over the place, which has resulted in a very red thumb which will not wash off. So once I was finished I was free to take my scooter, but I have to carry a very important blue paper. Since they reported my scooter stolen yesterday, the national traffic or whatever has the information and there is a delay in the time that they can say it was recovered. So I was told not to leave my scooter outside for a long time anywhere cause it may be missing when I come out. To prove I was the one who didnt steal it and it was mine I have to have the blue paper.

So needless to say I am very happy to have it back and to not be walking everywhere. I enjoy the conveience of a quick ride to the 7-11 or to McDonalds. For the celebration of the return of my scooter I went to McDonalds for dinner and took a 3 hour nap!!! Everything is back to normal until I lose the next thing....

Advertisement



14th March 2007

Wow!
Glad to hear that you got that scooter back. What a wacky story!
15th March 2007

Only You
Rachel seriously only something like this would happen to you. Since you have the black cloud back why is Mark having so much trouble? Did you buy a lock????

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb