Langapalooza and St. Pattys day


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kenting
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well last weekend the foreign teacher invaded Kenting. About 8 of us headed down there to hang out, have fun and celebrate Mike's birthday and 2 days before we went we realized it was going to be St. Pattys day too. Its funny how people at home are excited for weeks and weeks and make all these plans for this day but we dont even realize it until 2 days before and only cause people from home reminded us. It really brings some prespective. We are in our own world here and just enjoying life without all the complications at home. The only problem is I still dont even know when Easter is. My teachers asked me about it and I was like I have no idea. Its not like Christmas where its the same time every year, so needless to say I still dont know when it is.
But back to Kenting. As being my favorite beach in Taiwan I was pumped to go only to be dissapointed when it was raining Friday night. But we braved the rain and still had blast anyways. It all just depends on the company, and what great company it was. Saturday we played football on the beach and swam in the water. Although it was cloudy we still all managed to get sunburned, yes I know what you are going to say mom....and I did put sunscreen on. After the day at the beach we hit up the town to do some shopping and enjoy the fine western foods offered there. Then after dinner Mare has this stellar idea to do this thing where we are strapped to bungee cords and we jump on a tampoline. Well it was a bad idea I felt like I was going to loose my lunch every time I would flip or even jump. I was a little queasy for a while after that. We just chilled the rest of the night and had a fabulous time.
Sunday was still cold and very windy....I wondered if typhoons will be like that. Speaking of which I wonder when typhoon season starts. Well I probably wont like it very much unless we get off school . So we ate and shopped again, two of my favorite activities then 5 of us hopped in the cab and headed back to Kao to catch the bus and head home. It was a great time with great friends!!

This week at school I started teaching 5th grade. Well let me say what a NICE change it has been. Many of you who have talked to me in the past 3 months know what a terrible time I was having and I was ready to quit and come home. Its really amazing how one person can ruin your whole attitude. I hate to say I let someone get to me that much, but when the person crushes your confidence and embarasses and discredits you everyday, it really starts to get to you. But thankfully I no longer have to be exposed to that. And I have had so much fun and really started to enjoy being at school again. This week I taught the 5th graders the Hokey Pokey and they loved it. It was so much fun and my teacher said she wants me to do something like that every week. So this week we are doing the Chicken Dance then the YMCA! I think they will have lots of fun with it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



25th March 2007

Easter time
Easter is on Sunday, April 8th this year! Enjoy!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb