Chapter 3 - To Drive or not to Drive?


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
February 20th 2006
Published: February 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Driving a scooter. It was something I was dreading for a really long time. As soon as I arrived and started to meet people, I was told of foreigners who had lost limbs, gotten brain damage, broken bones etc etc. So, naturally, my first instinct was NOT to jump right into learning how to drive. I was certain that I could make it in this city with my two legs as transportation - and maybe the bus from time to time. Well - I soon came to two realizations:
(1) apparently the bus runs on its own schedule, and
(2) I am far more lazy than I had remembered (why should I walk up the street when I have a perfectly good scooter in the garage?!)

Anyways, I decided that when Faye left for her vacation in Bali, I would conquer my fear and take to the streets. Aside from falling over going UP the ramp from the garage - god that was embarrassing (I guess being helped up off the ground by my security guard was one way to break the ice), it was smooth sailing.

One thing I can say for sure is that driving in Kaohsiung is exactly like being in a video game - (see Atari's "Frogger"), but actually isn’t too bad as long as you make 100 more shoulder checks than you normally would, and keep a firm grip on your brakes and horn.
It’s weird trying to get used to controlling a vehicle with only your hands, but the constant flow of various forms of traffic quickly condition you to work it out. For example, as I was inches away from smashing into a lady pulling a cart of caged chickens on her bicycle, I thought: “I should really keep my fingers on the brakes at all times” (edited version). Onlookers must have wondered why I was repeatedly smashing my right foot to the floor of the scooter - I was CLEARLY looking for the non-existent brake pedal. OK - fingers on breaks.
Another time there was this gigantic SUV that decided to wait until I was in front of him to turn left...that’s about the time when I learned where the horn was - and to NEVER take my thumb off of it. Right, fingers on breaks…thumb on horn. Got it.

It has been a couple of weeks now that I have been driving…and it really hasn’t been too bad. As long as you stay alert, don’t anticipate that anyone has common sense on the road, expect nothing and look both ways when crossing EVEN if it’s a green light…then it’s easy. Also, it seems to be very important to be an aggressive driver because otherwise you will get nowhere. There are many circumstances where you are waiting at a red light (which, by the way, really means “stop…ish”) and 75 scooters are revving their engines behind/ beside/ in front of you, and you are all aiming at this narrow tunnel across the intersection. As soon as the light is yellow, people start to take off, so, you have to go with traffic - the minute you break, you could cause an accident, and sometimes stray dogs will jump on for a ride (so I’ve heard), which also adds a little excitement…and fleas.

As some of you know, work for me starts in early March. I was recently offered Faye’s job at her school, Junior Jungle. I subbed for her for a week while she was gone, and really liked the atmosphere, kids and staff. The hours are perfect for me (9am - 6pm) and also hard to come-by out here - most teachers work from 2-9pm. I am excited to get started and make some money - I already have plans to travel on my summer vacation and save for a longer backpacking trip when I am finished my contract. Oh, and go shopping. Couldn’t forget that.

Teaching so far, is really a fun job that can become stressful at times, but truly rewarding if you do a good job. I hope that my kids will learn a lot from me, and not just how to swear. Just kidding…But really, now is the time to brush up on the precise meanings of things like verbs, adjectives, adverbs etc. It sounds silly, but you would be amazed at how much you don’t remember when it comes time to teach it. For instance, I had to teach the word unconscious to Faye’s class - and in the end my explanation was something to the effect of “Let’s say you go mountain climbing and a rock falls, and you get hit in the head….and you look like you’re sleeping…and um…can’t talk, so, you need to go see a doctor…and you get a headache later…but everything’s fine in the end, don’t worry”. Ok, so I have some learning to do - but in other areas I am better, I promise.
As long as the kids like me that is half the battle, as far as I'm concerned. Taiwanese kids are for the most part really well-behaved and super smart and, due to their young ages, often say quite funny things. Like when I was asking the kindergarten class what each person’s favourite colour was - one said “mine is black because that is the colour of my tooth”. How does one respond to that anyway?! “Yes, Howard, it is black - good observation”, or, “does anyone else have any other colours of teeth they would like to show to the class?” I just laughed and carried on. They really are great kids!

Well - so far so good, I am really starting to enjoy life here more and more as each week I feel more settled. My experiences with Taiwanese culture have been very positive since the people here are very hospitable and are for the most part, very friendly. I hope to post some information about Taiwan and Taiwanese culture soon, so that you get a better idea of what life is like out here - you never know, maybe some of you will want to come and see me ; )

That’s it for now - I will be posting more pictures in the future, but have yet to receive the package from home which contains the USB cord I need to upload pictures on my computer (I knew I would forget something important). Anyway, apparently it was sent by boat, so…..it may be 2007 before you see anything. I’ll see what I can do...

Keep in touch,

Rebecca-what-is-an-adverb?-Orsini







Advertisement



20th February 2006

Love the Blogs
I love the blogs rebecca.....hilarious, and it is so nice to read that you are doing well....I knew that you would!!!! I was thinking that as a part of one of your lesson plans you could teach the kids about the theory of chaos to the power of meal divided by FLETCH!!!!! Or perhaps what happens when you throw a dictionary out the window...GAWD....I'm soooooo immature. Anyways hope all is well!!! Love Anna
20th February 2006

I'm impressed!
Good effort! Your chapters become more interesting each time. Makes life in Derby, England rather uneventful!?! If you ever stop this way after your work and travels, make sure to give us a visit! Best of luck out there. Cheers, Mike
5th March 2006

Hi Rebecca! Paolo and I say hi...we were laughing at your blog. The pictures are unbelievable. Hope you are having a good time. I have a ton of ESL resources if you need any; but I'm sure you are supplied with a lot. Keep having fun!! Miss you!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb