Kenting to Kaohsiung


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
February 24th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Waves 27 secs
Sea ViewSea ViewSea View

Look at that tree
Hello from Kenting, hello from Kaohsiung! The train arrived on time as expected and there I met Eddie who I emailed from Canada and arranged to drive me the rest of the way around the Island. This is great because it will allow me to easily see places I couldn't from the train ie: Kenting! Kenting is a beautiful resort town right on the south tip of Taiwan. It has a real 'Aloha' kind of feel. That night I strolled down the very busy main street. Really felt like a holiday carnival. Everyone was happy...eating ice cream...playing amusement park games. I pigged out. Green tea ice cream...bubble tea and even pizza. Needless to say I slept very well that night (in my beautiful Bali style room). The next morning after breakfast I went down to the beach for a quick dip. Beautiful (see the pics) though I was almost destroyed by a rogue wave...oh well...left me with a small 'souvenir' which is just mildly annoying! Anywho...Eddie picked my up and after a quick visit to the aquarium (very cool place...very happy looking fish...including a whale shark) it was off to Kaohsiung. Kaohshiung is the second largest town in Taiwan. It is
This really makes it seem tropicalThis really makes it seem tropicalThis really makes it seem tropical

washed up on a desert island
very a very important port town where they also have a lot of industry. Further into the heart of the town is the CBD which is divided by the lovely 'Love River'. Lucky me...Kaohsiung has extended their 'lantern festival' to go on all week...YAY! All down the Love River there were entries after entries of lanterns. I think the lantern festival is suppose to fall after the first full moon of the new year marking the official start of the year...this year...the year of the rat. See the pics. Very colourful very fun. On the other side of the river there were stall after stall of food and in between a huge stage were people were performing dances...songs etc... Overload! Time to duck into a pub where I found Eddie and his friend Leo. A few pints (and chips and nuts and onion rings) later and all was better. Another great night sleep. Next morning onto Sun Moon Lake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Kenting NightsKenting Nights
Kenting Nights

If this towns a rockin...
Canada RepresentedCanada Represented
Canada Represented

in the lantern festive
Zodiac Bender?Zodiac Bender?
Zodiac Bender?

you explain it


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb