From Bad to Good


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Green Island
February 21st 2008
Published: February 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

spa me!spa me!spa me!

ahhhh
Those who know me won't believe this. I got behind the wheel of a motorized vehicle! I white knuckled it half way around the island to the local hot spring. One of only 3 in the world fed by the ocean. WOW! Wonderful!! I got back on the scooter and before I realized I was actually speeding! Now I wouldn't say it was so great 'I can't believe I've been missing this'. It was just the right tool for the job. Anywho...tonight a lovely dinner then tomorrow back on the vomit barge (oh ya...I didn't mention that part did I...thought I was going to die...best not talk about it!) and onto Kenting. Later!

will add more later if time allows...Here is more!...

Green Island was great. The bad refers to the ferry ride from Taitung. Yikes...it was the last straw when the dog threw up. Anyway...back on the island there was a scooter waiting for me and a ticket to the spaaaaahhhh. As I already wrote...the scooter ride was fine. I named it Ben...a nice friendly safe name...unlike Odin. Ben & I went around the island twice together. Saw lots of amazing scenes. Saw some of the local wildlife
OMGOMGOMG

can you believe this
including what I'm sure was a little deer

***this just in*** I am 99.99% sure I saw a 'Formosan Reeve's Muntjac' (google it for a pic). Others said I saw a goat. I looked it up as soon as I got home and YES that is what I saw!!!...anyway back to our story.

Day two was a dip in the ocean to snorkel. Was so cool...walking right out from the shore just a few meters and there below the most amazing and beautiful fish and coral. My snorkel buddy pointed out one of the corals was estimated at 500 years old. Saw many different types of fish but the most interest came when we saw clown fish. Others could not understand 'clown fish' until I said 'Nemo' 'OH OH OH...Nemo!!!'. Later I took another ride around the island. This was much more comfortable except at about the half way point. There were two dogs eying me as I rounded the corner. And just like they had a baton one passed off and the other was on my tail. YIKES! I could not shake him. At times I was going 50...look in the rear view...wait...wait...OMG there he is. He
Side of your eyeSide of your eyeSide of your eye

side of your eye
chased me for about 3kms until he caught another scooter going the other way then back he went. The ride back on the ferry was much better. On the other side was my betel nut chewing cabby (looks like blood coming out the corner of the mouth) who took me back to the station so now on to Kenting!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

arrrarrr
arrr

tiz a salty town
Vomit BargeVomit Barge
Vomit Barge

this was the bad...thankfully the ride back was ok


Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb