Monkey poo!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
October 24th 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I go to India in 2 days I am sooo excited I have booked my first nights hotel and booked a place on a sleeper train for the next day from Chennai to Goa! I can’t wait! I have my bag packed and I am ready to go!
It is my last day teaching tomorrow as when I get back from India I will just be doing the props and costumes for Rosanne’s plays so time seems to be going very fast again.
Last weekend I went to Nuwara Eliya. This is a town high up in the hill country and I actually had to buy a jumper for the first time in over 3 months I felt cold! I didn’t really like it her as it was a little like a ghost town. Everything is very run down and not very beautiful (like the rest of the country!) It is also very expensive!
We went to a beautiful rose garden where the locals pay 20/- and we pay 300/-! I tried to explain to the man selling the tickets that we weren’t made of money but after 20 minutes of flashing our volunteer and student cards he still didn’t give in. The gardens were almost worth the money though as we did see loads of monkeys, roses, flowers, etc… Rosanne, Susan, Claire (other vols) and I were all sitting on a bench and a Sri Lankan family started taking photos of us which was very funny and they started posing with us for more photos I felt like a celeb! We also saw a beautiful Hindu temple.
On the Sunday morning we got up at 4 am to go on a walk up a big hill to see the sun rise at a place called world’s end. It was amazing even though the walk was very challenging and I ended up throwing away my entire outfit as I got so muddy.
When I got home after the weekends adventures I was just about to climb into bed when I noticed that there was a massive poo on my bed! The only animal big enough to of made that mess was monkey as it was also down the wall so a dog couldn’t have done it!
I hope India will be less action packed than this as I need a holiday!
I hope everything at home is ok speak soon
xxxxxx


Advertisement



24th October 2006

hey lil
hey lil i think i just typed out a massive comment on the last page but nothing appeared so i think it didnt work. i was just saying that we have sort of got sky, its an ntl or something but its more or less sky. and we are going to go skiing next easter with all of us (mum dad included!) and stuart i think, going skiing! anyway i hope the last comment will appear cause that one was better!
31st October 2006

Nice to read about your experience in Sri Lanka
Hi Lil, I just saw your blog and started reading it.. it made me so home sick! Well, I am a Sri Lankan studying in US for the past five years. I am planing to visit home this December and I can't wait. I have read most of your writings and really appriciate how you still talk about how much you like my country and its people, regardless all the leaches, matrons of the school, food.. and I am sure it is very uncomfortable for you to travel in the local buses and trains... but it looks like you are having an amazing experience and know how to enjoy your time. Some of the places you have traveled even I haven't been to yet.. my home town is called Kurunegala, in between Colombo and Kandy.. kind of. I studied in Colombo. Well, hope you are having a nice time in India and have a safe travel back! Ganga.
2nd November 2006

hey Ganga I was very touched by your message and you are right I love Sri Lanka and the people are some of the best in the world (that i have found so far!) I hope you have a great trip back in December. India is not a patch on SL! Lily

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb