Sorry i haven't written in so long!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
October 16th 2006
Published: October 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
I don't really know where to start now. I am very pleased how the placement situation has worked out as I love what I am doing at the moment even though I have less than 2 weeks left volunteering!
On friday last week one of the teachers husbands was shot dead just outside the school. This was one of the most scary times in my life as everyone was crying/ screaming we didn't understand what the hell was going on until a very preganant teacher (who is now at her due date) started running and crying across the playground after we all heard gun shots. The teacher then fell over holding her stomach. All the children also weren't being told anything and so they were all still playing laughing etc. Rosanne, Marie and myself all decided that we were best looking after the children. All the teachers were all looking after the pregenant teacher whos family had now started arriving and they were all trying to stop the teacher from leaving the school grounds as the men who killed her husband also wanted to kill her. We (R,M&me) took all the children to the other side of the school and tryed to keep them busy as no one else was doing anything with the children who now were asking us why there teacher was crying and they keep saying things like "bang bang?".
I aslo have problems with my new host family but they seem very minor compared to fridays events!
after today I will hopefully have my visa for india and so tomo with any luck I will have my ticket and be ready to go...
I have decided to stay longer in Sri Lanka as I love it here too much and as it turns out Arthur is going to be away in Berlin for his birthday anyway so I might as well be here!
My plans until when I come home are as follows:
I work at my placement until 27th October, then go to India until 13th November on holiday. When I come back I will not be working at the school anymore as Marie and I will be helping Rosanne makes propts and make the costumes for her plays of 'Heidi' and 'The Ugly Duckling' on 7th December after the play I then start my 2 weeks of travel time around Sri Lanka with Rosanne fitting in all the culteral things I haven't been able to do so far and of couse lots more time on the beach to make you all very jealous of my tan! During this 2 weeks we have also been invited to a wedding by our host family and 14th December and 16th December which should be an experience just trying to dance in my Sari! I will with any luck be home safe and dry and hopefully with luggage on 22nd December just in time for Christmas!
Sorry I haven't been able to write everything
lots of love
xxx



Advertisement



16th October 2006

So good to hear from you
hey Lily, Mum told me all about the awful events of the other day - you poor thing. I said to mum that if that was going to happen to anyone, it should have happened to you, as you'll be able to handle it - don't take that the wrong way though!!! Well done for being so calm in a crisis...you should be a nurse!!! I'll email you soon, to update you on everything this end. Love you loads, Abi xxx
16th October 2006

It all sounds a complete nightmare. The poor poor woman. I hope she at least had her baby safely. Its great to have all those dates written down clearly - I'll get them in my diary. I'll email you soon darling. xxx
16th October 2006

photos
Hey Lil, I've just been looking through your blog page thing and there aren't any photos of you. You need to put lots more photos up, so bored people like me (sitting in a grey office, looking out at a grey sky) can dream of being on an exotic beach etc!!! No seriously, I'd like to look at your tan! lots of love, abxxx
24th October 2006

hey lil
hey lil sounds like your having fun, im at home getting bored wish i was out there! im assuming that you have heard that we are now a skiing family!!!!!!! parents agreed cause some of their friends were going or something, either way we are all going skiing next easter i think. really looking forward to seeing you, dont even think about extending your time in sri lanka any more! oh yeah we have a sort of sky thing at home too. it isnt actually sky but it is something like that, we are moving up in the world! lol. see you soon. love you. arthur

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb