Floods, trains and beaches!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Goa » Baga
October 31st 2006
Published: October 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived at last! it was amazing getting on a plane again and experiencing a little of the good life! We arrived in Chennai and I suddenly felt how lost we are in this massive country! It is very similar to SL but with greater extremes. We spent the first couple of days in Chennai by which time we had experienced a proper monsoon to the extent of the whole city being under a foot of water which all the locals assured us was ‘normal’! It then got to our time to get on the 23 hour sleeper train to take us to Goa. After some initial problems when we found out we were the only ones waiting for the train who didn’t actually have tickets yet and were still on the waiting list even though we were assured before hand that we did, we got on the way (after the inevitable 4 hour delay!).
When we arrived in Goa we met a guy who looked like Bob Marley (even though he was Kenyan) and another Russian guy who we shared a taxi with and they took us to Baga beach which is lovely and a lot more lively than little old Sri Lanka! We are now relaxing onto our holiday waking up whenever going to the beach until sun set and then having a good night out. We are planning to stay here a little over a week then heading to Bangalore, then we will be heading back home to SL to properly ‘do’ this country I am going to have to come back for a least a year it may have to be for my third gap year!?! I will keep dreaming…
I have also heard that none of my boys a used to teach back in SL have been to school since I have been here so i must have had a bigger impact than I thought!

Advertisement



1st November 2006

clothes
sounds like your enjoying yourself. Dont forget to get me loads of clothes... Will x

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb