A week is a long time in Sri Lanka


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Hikkaduwa
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Building Progress InspectionBuilding Progress InspectionBuilding Progress Inspection

Graham and Mary inspect work on the Rosie May home with the architect and builder.
Once again I have been plagued by a problem in Sri Lanka. This time it is the squits and sickness and being ill in this climate sapped my energy and almost killed my enthusiasm. Thankfully the anti-biotics are now working, but the prescription I got from the hospital in Galle needed scrutiny and I finally followed the Lonely Planet guidebook recommendations on medication.

The Rosie May charity group arrived at the weekend and had another attempt to persuade their builder to finish off their project. We were all amazed when he announced that he could finish it in 3 weeks, after he had already delayed a few times totaling 5 months! Finally he gave a more realistic end of next January completion date and now additional labourers have appeared from his other jobs. Progress is now astounding in comparison, but today heavy rain was threatening external work. The meeting today with the landscaper went well I was told, so at least there is hope for one new building to get finished.

I have been covering for the computer teacher recently by taking his lessons. It was scheduled to be for a couple of days, so I was prepared for
Construction WorkConstruction WorkConstruction Work

Progress at last!
those lessons, but the last couple of days was unexpected so I had to improvise at the last moment. The first time I used the telephone bill that had just arrived at the centre to set an Excel task, then today I had luckily taken in some newspaper classifieds that the students could use for a Word lesson. I can get so far teaching in English and pointing, but without my Sri Lankan colleagues to help I would finally get stuck for giving explanations.

My (now becoming) annual audit of the computers is barely half done and it has revealed the need for lots of work again, so I need to be very efficient, but troubleshooting can be a roller-coaster ride. For example, this morning I thought I had a break-through on getting an internet connection because the hotel owner gave me a pre-paid card and his old modem. Then I discovered that the telephone at the centre has a wireless connection to a transmitter in the village so I can't connect it to the modem. Then we tried a WAP phone but couldn't get that to work, so the whole morning was lost. We will try to find
Computer TeachingComputer TeachingComputer Teaching

Using 'sign language' to demonstrate a technique.
out if the local exchange can deliver broadband, but I am not hopeful of resolving that problem before I leave.

Tomorrow I plan to go computer shopping and get some better specified machines that will hopefully attract some of the lost students back to the centre and improve what we can offer them. I know that the Rosie May charity also see lots of potential at the centre, which could give it the boost that it clearly needs. I have explained to our PR Officer what a Mission Statement is because we need one at the centre and a revamped website to attract new volunteers and funding.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

A New Teaching AssistantA New Teaching Assistant
A New Teaching Assistant

Ruwan is co-opted into being a stand-in teaching assistant. It is so much easier with 2 people, one a translator.
Sunday Afternoon at the beachSunday Afternoon at the beach
Sunday Afternoon at the beach

Locals enjoy an afternoon off at Unawatuna beach.
Fruit Stalls in GalleFruit Stalls in Galle
Fruit Stalls in Galle

Lots of lovely fruit that I didn't dare eat with my illness.
Computing for Pre-schoolComputing for Pre-school
Computing for Pre-school

Ruchira and Mary help infants trial some basic learning games brought from the UK.
A Mission StatementA Mission Statement
A Mission Statement

Example of a Mission Statement that I saw in Galle while getting computer prices.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb