A Teardrop In The Indian Ocean


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » North Central Province » Polonnaruwa
October 13th 2008
Published: October 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have returned to Sri Lanka, having visited as a tourist , a few years ago. Something drew me back to this beautiful island and I'm sure it was the people. I am living in Polonnaruwa with a host family who are adorable, friendly, so accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Work wise I am working in a girls orphanage. They are aged between eight and nineteen and we are with them to teach them English, help them clean, play and generally spending time with them which is an absolute pleasure. The orphanage is set on the edge of a reservoir and they have a vegetable garden and go to school everyday. Their enthusiasm for learning is a joy and their laughter and sense of fun infectious and also humbling. I have really enjoyed my time with the girls and will miss them when I move on.
The down time has been very relaxing as we are able to use the local hotel pool for a small fee so have had time to enjoy the gorgeous weather and cloud free skies, which has been bliss after all the rain in India.
I have also had the chance to see some colourful sights and have put a few pics on here of some of them. The son at the house had a school procession the other evening which was lovely to see and he was dressed as a king which he was very proud of. We visited a Hindu temple on the way to Kandy last weekend and visited Nuwara Eliya in the tea plantation area. This was so lovely as it was much cooler and a bit of respite from the heat. We found a gorgeous hotel to sit on comfy sofas and had afternoon tea and cake, very civilised!
I'm just going to add a quick thank you to Jo I can truly say it wouldn't have been the same without you nuf said..x
I feel very relaxed and calm in Sri Lanka and have loved coming back from a different angle but I have to say that Ranjith, Geethani, Mayomi, and Kaveen have had a lot to do with my enjoyment on this section of my trip and I thank them very much for welcoming me into their family as they have done these past few weeks. The other night they asked myself and another two people in the house to plant a banana tree in the garden in our names which I thought was a lovely thing to do and we now have a race on as to who's tree produces the most bananas this time next year!!
Well it's goodbye now to Sri Lanka I shall miss this jewel in the ocean and will have a big smile in my heart thinking of all those I have met here, Karen xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

school carnivalschool carnival
school carnival

has anyone seen Saddam's child?!!


14th October 2008

Great tea-break
Your "tea-break" sounds idyllic. No doubt you were very touched to plant a tree and know that a part of you will always be there in the garden. Loved the pics as always. Mum and Dad xxx

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb