Time is an Essence


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Central Province » Sigiriya
January 21st 2016
Published: January 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Spending a short time in a country means only one thing, you have to make the most out of it and embrace everything regardless of what you have heard from others. In this case, I spent less than 48 hrs in Sri Lanka and I regret not spending more days than I have planned. Honestly, I didn't even plan of visiting here, it was just a spare in the moment trip if you could say.
Many travelers know the great joy of day trips, especially if you venture off on your own; and like me - doesn't even like the thought of joining a tour group. Here in Sri Lanka, the main port of entry is Colombo (which technically it's far away from the city itself, but that's like any other airport). Most tourist and travelers alike take day trips to multiple location throughout the island. I, however had to choose one trip which was hard enough to decide, but i did choose Sigiriya/Dambulla tour.
We started off in Negombo where I was staying because it was closer to the airport and seemed like it was a much better city than Colombo (then again I haven't been, so my apologies to anyone I've offended). There was only one way to get to and from Sigiriya/Dambulla, so you need a lot of patience during the car ride although there were construction going on at this time.
Arriving at Sigiriya and being in front of the mountain was impeccable. I've only seen it in pictures and seeing it in person and knowing I was about to climb the mountain was absolutely dreamlike. There are 1200 steps to reach to the top. It was a difficult climb, but reaching the top was definitely worth every step.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb