Remainder of Tokyo and Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We spent all this time on Thursday preparing for the climb for Fuji, buying gloves, food, rain gear, etc. I really wasnt up for it but agreed to do it anyway since I am such a nice travel buddy and I know how much Ben really wanted to climb. I will admit though that I really gave him a hard time about it and there were a couple of arguments...(Sorry Ben😞)When it got closer thought, I became really excited and couldnt wait to climb. So we got everything together and went to the bus station and we missed the last bus that night out to Fuji. Apparently the schedule on the internet was wrong. We were so dissapointed. I guess I will never see the sun rise from under the clouds on Fuji.
The night actually turned out good though, well kind of... We hung out with the people from our hostel and went to this Karoake Bar. Ben got into a argument with one of the guys that we went with so we left. It is now probably 3am or so, pouring rain, we had no umbrellla and we werent sure how to get back to the new hostel. We finally found it and then realized that we didnt have the code to get into the hostel. So we had to sleep outside, luckily there was this little couch that we could at least sit on. I blamed it all on Fuji...
We tried to make the make the most of the last day in Tokyo, we went to Harajuku and Yoyogi park and ate some good Thai and Japanese food. I was sad to leave on Saturday😞 I really love it there and will miss mostly the food and the people. The Japanese people that we have encountered really went out of their way for us. I will definitely go back there one day and see more of Japan.


Now we are in South Korea at the Osan Air Force Base with our friends Dewey and Liza . It is sooo nice to be with friends and to be around people who speak English. It is my first time on a military base too. It is basically like a little mini-USAin the center of Korea. They take US dollars and have all US restaurants. The base is in Songtan, about an hour South of Seoul. We went out last night off the base and it was a lot of fun. We drank way too much Soju (some sort of really strong Korean Liquer )and OB (Korean Beer). Oh and I learned how to Two Step (thanks Dewey) at this Western Bar. I never thought I would come to Korea to learn how to do that.
We are leaving soon to go to Seoul for the next 2 days. The city is huge and there is a lot to do.

Oh, and we are thinking of cutting Hong Kong out of the trip and spending more time in Thailand. I'm sure Hong Kong is awesome but I feel like it will just be another big city. After talking to a lot of different people who have been there, there is just so much to do and 4 days really isnt enough time. We want to be able to spend some time in Bangkok and go to Phukett too. So, any suggestions?

Advertisement



24th July 2006

To Thai or Not to Thai
Reg - If you want to spent the extra time in Thailand - I say go for it. As far as the mountain climb - I'm actually glad you didn't do it. I would hate to lose a friend to Mount Fuji. You are kind of accident prone. But overall - it sounds like a great adventure and I'm enjoying your postings. Stay well and enjoy your time there :) I just have one question .... Did the little boy join you on your journey?????????????
24th July 2006

Less is more
Cut Hong Kong and spend more time In Thailand. Everyone I know who has gone to Thailand loved the people, the food, and the beaches and wished they had more time. Take a little time to do nothing for a day... hang on the beach and enjoy the breezes!
24th July 2006

Loving your trip
I am loving your trip soooo much. I love hearing about your adventures and I am glad that you are having such a good vacation. Post more pics! I wish I was there with you guys.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb